In This Issue
Message from Your Board Chair
ACHE Canada Member Spotlight: Leslie Benecki
New & Noteworthy in Canadian Healthcare
Message from Your Canadian Regent
Learn the Art of Dialogue and Have Open, Productive Conversations
Learning Corner
ACHE Canadian Member Spotlight: Marcy Saxe-Braithwaite
ACHE News | Q4
Join the ACHE Official Group on LinkedIn
General Information
How to 'Opt-in' to ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter
Message from Your Board Chair


Dear Fellow Canadian Chapter Members,

It is amazing to me that another year is coming to a close. Each seems to move more quickly than the year before. For our Chapter, this has been a year of tremendous progress, despite the rapid pace.

We have been working more closely with the Canadian College of Health Leaders (CCHL) to support a closer relationship between ACHE and CCHL. This has led to a second year of hosting a session at the November BC Health Leaders Conference. We are also working closely with the GTA CCHL Chapter, partnering on education and networking events for 2020.

We have updated our Chapter Bylaws and restructured the geographic representation of our Board. We now have 50% of our Board elected based on the country’s regions (East, Central, West) and 50% of our directors elected based on the distribution of membership across these regions. Our Chapter year is now January 1 – December 31, which will see our Director and Executive positions turn over at the end of December.

We will welcome three board members to their first term on the Board in January: Shawn Drake, Francisco Grajales, and Allan Katz. At this time, Todd Stepanuik, Vice Chair of the Chapter Board for the past two years will be stepping into the role of Chair. I am grateful for his support during my term as Chair. His counsel has always been wise and I am excited for his leadership of the Chapter. He is a true leader and his passion for ACHE will propel our chapter forward.

At the close of the year, we will also see David Matear, FACHE, complete his term on the board. With his recent relocation to the United States, he will not stand for a second term. In addition to representing B.C. on the board, he has chaired the Chapter Program Committee this year. We have benefited greatly from his dedication and penchant for action. He has laid a strong foundation that will guide us to success going forward. We will also see Paula Neves, PhD, depart from the board. She has steered our Communications Committee for two years and worked diligently to expand and improve our newsletter content. Her commitment to transitioning the committee to the next chair will ensure continuity for our membership. Paula; David: thank you for giving of your time and talents in service to our Chapter. Your hard work is so appreciated.

I would also like to congratulate our Service Award recipients for 2019: Leslie Benecki, FACHE, Rakesh Calton, M.D., FACHE, Glenn Gale, James Haney, FACHE, Raj Sewda, FACHE, and Todd Stepanuik. Please check out their bios under Chapter Service Awards in the Membership section of the ACHE Canada website. We are stronger for their service and I am proud to congratulate them on their awards.

As I complete my term as Chair, I want to say thank you to our members. I am far richer for having had the opportunity to serve you and support our chapter. I have known for years the incredible depth and breadth of talent in our membership ranks. It has been a privilege to see it up close during my tenure. A special thanks to the board members for your ongoing commitment to our chapter. It has been a pleasure to serve with you.

And for those members in the East and West regions, we have vacancies on the board in these regions. Why not join this distinguished table and share your leadership? I would be so pleased to chat with you about what is involved. Please connect with me at or 519-239-9903.

Frances C. Roesch, B.P.R., M.H.A., FACHE, is Chair of the Canadian Chapter of the American College of Healthcare Executives and Director of Administration, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine, in the Faculty of Health Sciences at McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario.