American College of Healthcare Executives
Winter 2011
In This Issue

Healthcare Reform -- It's not just a river in Egypt!*
Announcing Hawaii-Pacific Chapter of ACHE 2011 Officers and Board
Meet Our New Chapter President, Stan Berry, MPH, FACHE
Chapter President Remarks
2010 Was a Very Good Year
Congratulations and Aloha!
A Visit With Guam Local Program Council
News from Okinawa
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)


Chapter Officers

REGENT
Kevin Roberts, FACHE
robertka@ah.org

PRESIDENT
Stan Berry, FACHE
sberry@shrinenet.org  

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
jen.chahanovich@palimomi.org 

CHAIR, Guam Local Program Council
Albert Gurusamy
hspadmin@teleguam.net

SECRETARY
Christi Keliipio
Ckeliipio@kapiolani.org

TREASURER
Lance Segawa
lsegawa1@hhsc.org

DIRECTORS
Bobbie Ornellas
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com

Gertie Francoise
gertie@hawaii.rr.com

Charlotte Hildebrand
clhildebrand@hotmail.com

Joann Reid
reidj012@gmail.com

Phillip "Spike" Jones, FACHE
philip.e.jones@pacom.mil

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Kevin Roberts, FACHE
robertka@ah.org

STUDENT
Maria Kostylo
mkostylo@hawaiimedcen.com
Meet Our New Chapter President, Stan Berry, MPH, FACHE

                    
Stan Berry, MPH, FACHE, President, Hawaii-Pacific Chapter of ACHE

After having completed a term as president-elect under Kevin Roberts, Stan assumed the top Chapter job in January. By way of background, Stan was born and raised in California where he completed all of his education, including a BS in Physical Therapy and a Masters in Public Health from Loma Linda University. Immediately following the completion of an administrative residency, Stan joined Adventist Health, a nonprofit system of 21 hospitals spread over four western states. He spent 25 years with the company service as President/CEO of five hospitals. His last assignment, overseeing North Hawaii Community Hospital on the Big island (Kamuela), began in 2002. Stan moved to Oahu in late 2007 to become the administrator of Shriners Hospitals for Children in Honolulu. While with Shriners he has overseen the construction of a replacement hospital and has traveled to locations from whence some of the children served by his hospital come from, including the Philippines, Japan and Guam. 

Stan has been a member of the College since 1978 and became a Fellow in 1991. From 1993-1997 he served as the Regent for the Sierra Pacific Region. Other past professional affiliations have included board memberships with hospitals, home care agencies, hospices and state healthcare associations. He currently serves as the Secretary/Treasurer of the Healthcare Association of Hawaii. According to Stan, "The College has profoundly impacted my career. Through my ACHE membership I have become acquainted with hundreds of successful healthcare leaders, learned important concepts and strategies for dealing with the day-to-day challenges of running healthcare organizations in a dynamic environment, and provided a set of ethical principles applicable in both my professional and personal life. I am honored to give back to the college by leading the Hawaii-Pacific Chapter this year."

Next Article
Previous Article


This e-mail was sent by the American College of Healthcare Executives on behalf of the ACHE chapter in your area. If you would prefer not
to receive any chapter newsletters via e-mail, please send a message to 'chapters@ache.org' and enter "unsubscribe_chapter newsletters"
in the subject line. Please include your full name, mailing address, and affiliate ID number (if known).