American College of Healthcare Executives
Winter 2011
In This Issue

Healthcare Reform -- It's not just a river in Egypt!*
Announcing Hawaii-Pacific Chapter of ACHE 2011 Officers and Board
Meet Our New Chapter President, Stan Berry, MPH, FACHE
Chapter President Remarks
2010 Was a Very Good Year
Congratulations and Aloha!
A Visit With Guam Local Program Council
News from Okinawa
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)


Chapter Officers

REGENT
Kevin Roberts, FACHE
robertka@ah.org

PRESIDENT
Stan Berry, FACHE
sberry@shrinenet.org  

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
jen.chahanovich@palimomi.org 

CHAIR, Guam Local Program Council
Albert Gurusamy
hspadmin@teleguam.net

SECRETARY
Christi Keliipio
Ckeliipio@kapiolani.org

TREASURER
Lance Segawa
lsegawa1@hhsc.org

DIRECTORS
Bobbie Ornellas
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com

Gertie Francoise
gertie@hawaii.rr.com

Charlotte Hildebrand
clhildebrand@hotmail.com

Joann Reid
reidj012@gmail.com

Phillip "Spike" Jones, FACHE
philip.e.jones@pacom.mil

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Kevin Roberts, FACHE
robertka@ah.org

STUDENT
Maria Kostylo
mkostylo@hawaiimedcen.com
News from Okinawa
LCDR Lonnie S. Hosea

It's nice to hear from our Pacific neighbors now and again. In early December 2010, LCDR Lonnie S. Hosea, President of the Local Program Council of the Network of Overseas Healthcare Executives, shared the following article from the Healthcare Executives of Okinawa, the Pacific Overseas Chapter of ACHE. 

The Healthcare Executives of Okinawa (HEO) hosted 25 ACHE members and nonmembers for a networking and education event at Shields' Pub on Camp Shields in Okinawa, Japan, on Wednesday 3 November 2010. The networking period set the tone for the evening of exceptionally collegial discussion to the flavor of spicy Nap's BBQ. The panel discussion topic was Proactively Managing Your Professional Development.  CDR Rachelle Kay, director for healthcare Business at USNH Okinawa, facilitated a three-member panel consisting of CAPT Terry Moulton, FACHE, Commander, USNH Okinawa, COL Barbara King, Commander, 18th Medical Group, and CAPT John Rothacker, FACHE, Executive Director, TRICARE Pacific. Each panelist introduced themselves and provided pearls of wisdom from their own career experiences. Major themes introduced by the panelists were planning 2 to 3 tours further in your career to further your goals, taking the position over the location, mixing in formal education with career experiences. Additionally, programs by organizations such as ACHE were presented as essential professional improvement resources regardless whether you are an early or mid-careerist, or senior healthcare executive. Diversity of experience with a strategic eye toward professional development was another key to a successful career. Lifelong learning and willingness to get outside your comfort zone were also gems that the panelists offered. The panelists were extremely engaging during the networking period and panel discussion. The feedback from attendees indicated that this networking and education program was one of the best yet for HEO. 1.5 ACHE Category I credits were awarded to attendees.

Pictured L to R:  LT Kayreen Gucciardo (HEO Treasurer), Maj Evangeline Tennort (HEO Secretary), LCDR Lonnie S. Hosea (HEO President), CDR Richelle Kay, CAPT Terry Moulton, COL Barbara King, and CAPT John Rothacker

Next Article
Previous Article


This e-mail was sent by the American College of Healthcare Executives on behalf of the ACHE chapter in your area. If you would prefer not
to receive any chapter newsletters via e-mail, please send a message to 'chapters@ache.org' and enter "unsubscribe_chapter newsletters"
in the subject line. Please include your full name, mailing address, and affiliate ID number (if known).