American College of Healthcare Executives
Winter 2012
In This Issue

Hawaii/Pacific Regent's Message
Letter From the President
Past President's Remarks
Hawaii Pacific Chapter of ACHE 2012 Leadership
ACHE Chairman Speaks at Hawaii Breakfast Meeting
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)


Chapter Officers

REGENT
Kevin Roberts, FACHE
robertka@ah.org

PRESIDENT
Stan Berry, FACHE
sberry@shrinenet.org  

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
jen.chahanovich@palimomi.org 

CHAIR, Guam Local Program Council
Albert Gurusamy
hspadmin@teleguam.net

SECRETARY
Christi Keliipio
Ckeliipio@kapiolani.org

TREASURER
Lance Segawa, FACHE
lsegawa1@hhsc.org

DIRECTORS
Bobbie Ornellas
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com

Gertie Francoise
gertie@hawaii.rr.com

Charlotte Hildebrand
clhildebrand@hotmail.com

Joann Reid
reidj012@gmail.com

Phillip "Spike" Jones, FACHE
philip.e.jones@pacom.mil

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Kevin Roberts, FACHE
robertka@ah.org

STUDENT
Maria Kostylo
mkostylo@hawaiimedcen.com
ACHE Chairman Speaks at Hawaii Breakfast Meeting
Gertie Francoise

Dr. Rulon Stacey, ACHE Chairman                                                           

On October 25, 2011, nearly 30 members of the Hawaii-Pacific Chapter of ACHE listened to Dr. Rulon F. Stacey, Chief Executive Officer of Poudre Valley Health System, Fort Collins, CO, and ACHE Chairman, as he spoke about changes facing the healthcare industry. Over breakfast foods and coffee, attendees heard more about moving from the Wholesale Markets of the 1980s to Managed Care in the 1990s to the emphasis in the Technology Market of 2000 and now to the Accountable Era of 2010. Dr. Stacey emphasized that in the accountable era, patients are the customer focus and healthcare leaders are expected to deliver quality outcomes at a reasonable price. He illustrated "a classic two-curve planning scenario in the changing dynamics of the healthcare industry, noting "the challenge of a 2-curve problem is to prosper in the 1st while you prepare for the 2nd." Dr. Stacey finished his presentation with a summary of the successful activities and growth of ACHE and a reminder that the 2012 Annual ACHE Congress is scheduled to be held in Chicago, March 19-22 at the Hyatt Regency Chicago. 

The breakfast meeting also provided the opportunity for the presentation of two Regent's Awards by Regent Kevin Roberts, FACHE, to two surprised members, Ms. Chris Keliipio, (left) the Hawaii-Pacific Chapter Secretary and Ms. Bobbie Ornellas, FACHE, (right) member of the Board of Directors. Chris and Bobbie were both recognized for their unfailing support of chapter events and willingness to always step up to lend a helping hand. Christie is also the chapter secretary and maintains the Hawaii web page. 

Christie Kaliipio & Kevin Roberts

                  

Bobbie Ornellas & Kevin Roberts 

                                                                                                            Kevin Roberts, Stan Berry, Christie Kaliipio, Dr. Stacey & Bobbie Ornellas

 

 

Next Article
Previous Article


This e-mail was sent by the American College of Healthcare Executives on behalf of the ACHE chapter in your area. If you would prefer not
to receive any chapter newsletters via e-mail, please send a message to 'chapters@ache.org' and enter "unsubscribe_chapter newsletters"
in the subject line. Please include your full name, mailing address, and affiliate ID number (if known).