American College of Healthcare Executives
Winter / December 2012
In This Issue

Message from the Regent
A fond Farewell from Chapter President
Aloha and Welcome from Chapter President 2013
Mahalo to the 2012 Chapter Board and Welcome to the 2013 Chapter Board
"Accountability for the Care We Provide" Panel Discussion November 8th, 2012
Insight from our future Healthcare Administrators on the Panel Discussion of November 8, 2012
Guam Program Council Luncheon on November 14th, 2012
Chapter News: New Fellows, Recertified Fellows, New Members
5 Ways to Keep Your Organization Upbeat
Chapter end of year financial report


Chapter Officers

REGENT
Coral Andrews, FACHE
coral@hawaiihealthconnector.
com


PRESIDENT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
jen.chahanovich@palimomi.org   

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Martha Smith, FACHE
Martha.Smith@kapiolani.org

CHAIR, Guam Local Program Council
Robert Rawleigh
Robert.Rawleigh@med.navy.
mil

SECRETARY
Darlena Chadwick
dchadwick@queens.org

TREASURER
Lance Segawa, FACHE
lsegawa1@hhsc.org

DIRECTORS
Bobbie Ornellas, FACHE
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com

Charlotte Hildebrand, FACHE
charlotte.hildebrand@us.army.
mil


Joanne Reid, FACHE
reidj012@gmail.com

Robert Rawleigh
Robert.Rawleight@mednavy.
mil

Steve Robertson, FACHE
SteveR@kapiolani.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Stan Berry, FACHE
sberry@shrinnet.org

STUDENT
Jen Dacumos
Jennifer.Dacumos@palimomi.
org
 

5 Ways to Keep Your Organization Upbeat
Imported from the ACHE Newsletter Library

Optimistic people are happier and more successful than their pessimistic counterparts. So says Martin Seligman, PhD, known as the “father of positive psychology.” For example, in one of his studies, salespeople with the highest optimism scores outsold their pessimistic counterparts by 20 to 40 percent.

But it’s not always easy to stay upbeat when your industry and workforce are facing significant change. Here are five mental toughness strategies that will boost optimism at your organization:

1. Encourage self-evaluation. Ask team members to answer three questions every day: What am I doing well? What do I need to improve? How will I make this improvement?  Check in with a different worker each day. Talking to your people about their successes and their challenges—as well as your own—gives everyone a sense of forward movement, possibility and camaraderie.

2. Develop a team vision. What do you all want for the organization? Where do you expect it to be in a year? The more detailed the vision, the better. Post those goals where everyone can see them daily. Expectancy theory says: That which we focus on expands.

3. Develop a relentless solution focus. RSF is a technique that takes practice, but once you and your employees get the hang of it, it will have a dramatic effect on people’s mood and your organization’s success. RSF is one’s ability to quickly transform every problem-focused thought into a solution-focused thought.

4. Strive for any improvement, no matter how small. See even a tiny improvement in any situation as a win and part of the solution. That’s a positive mental technique that you can share and teach to others as well.

5. Teach them to “get it done.” Staying upbeat is more than just a set of thought processes. It’s also linked to discipline. Permeate your culture with the practice of finding a way to “get it done.” Employees gain optimism by knowing that they can control outcomes. They do that by tirelessly translating hope and confidence into success through disciplined action.

—Adapted from “5 ways to keep your business upbeat” by Jason Selk, EdD, Communication Briefings, December 2012; (800) 791-8699; www.CommunicationBriefings.com


Next Article
Previous Article


Annual Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA) Meeting

When:  April 15th  & 16th , 2013

Where:  Ala Moana Hotel (Oahu)

At this seminar, in partnership with HFMA, we will be offering 1.5 hours of ACHE credit for continuing education.  We will keep you updated as we finalize the details with ACHE.

 



This e-mail was sent by the American College of Healthcare Executives on behalf of the ACHE chapter in your area. If you would prefer not
to receive any chapter newsletters via e-mail, please send a message to 'chapters@ache.org' and enter "unsubscribe_chapter newsletters"
in the subject line. Please include your full name, mailing address, and affiliate ID number (if known).