A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2013
In This Issue
Message from the Regent, Winter 2013
Message from Chapter President
Message from Guam Program Council
Calendar of Events
News from Education Committee
Importance of Education to Organizations in the Face of Change
Education Calendar
Spring 2013 Financial Report
New Fellows, Recertified Fellows and New Members
Student Involvement: Supporting your Local Chapter, Graduate Institution, and Community.
ACHE Recognition Program
5 Ways to Foster Innovation
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
Did you take the latest Educational Survey through Survey Monkey? See link under Education
Yes, I completed
No, I did not complete
CHAPTER OFFICERS
REGENT
Coral Andrews, FACHE
coral@hawaiihealthconnector.com  


PRESIDENT
Martha Smith, FACHE
Martha.Smith@kapiolani.org  


PRESIDENT-ELECT
Jay Kreuzer, FACHE
jkreuzer@hhsc.org  


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
LCDR Daren Verhulst, FACHE
Daren.Verhulst@fe.navy.mil  


SECRETARY
Darlena Chadwick
dchadwick@queens.org  


TREASURER
Steve Robertson, FACHE
Steve.Robertson@hawaiipacifichealth.org  


DIRECTORS
Art Gladstone, FACHE
Art.Gladstone@straub.net
LTC Tanya Peacock, FACHE
peacock4@hawaii.edu  
LCDR Robert Rawleigh
Robert.Rawleigh@med.navy.mil  
Lance Segawa, FACHE
lsegawa1@hhsc.org    


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Jennifer Dacumos
Jennifer.Dacumos@palimomi.org  


IMMEDIATE PAST-PRESIDENT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
Jen.Chahanovich@palimomi.org

5 Ways to Foster Innovation
Imported from ACHE Library

Innovation is a hot topic for businesses. Everyone wants it, but how do you know if you have it? How do you know if you are encouraging innovation in your organization? Here are some ways companies can foster innovation:

  1. Encourage Experimentation. Companies that make experimentation a priority will see results from those experiments. It’s important to give people time to be innovative. One example is allotting every employee to use a percentage of their time to be creative and explore new ideas. If your employees spend all of their time in meetings or on phone calls, they don’t have time to actually work on projects and be creative. Encourage experimentation and build time into the day to allow ideas to surface.
  2. Recognize innovation. Sometimes this is as simple as acknowledging a contribution, while other organizations offer bonuses or prizes for innovative ideas. If your company prizes innovation, then make sure your employees know innovation is valued.
  3. Reward Failure. One reason employees often don’t express their ideas is that they don’t want to rock the boat. They don’t want to be a failure if something doesn’t work out. Tolerate mistakes and expect failure, and reward lessons learned. Ideas don’t always work the first time. Thomas Edison, one of American’s greatest inventors, once said “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that it won’t work.” You’ll never find the ways things do work without finding the ways that won’t work first.
  4. Create Connections. How many times have you heard someone say that they had a great idea and presented it to someone higher up in an organization and it went nowhere? Companies need outlets for employees to voice their ideas. Some companies have suggestion boxes and others have formal processes to submit ideas, but what’s most important is to create pathways for ideas to become reality within organizations.
  5. Work in Teams. Create innovation teams to source new ideas. Look for people who are passionate about creating something new and different and allow them to work together to source ideas and processes.

Once you have these new ideas, your organization needs to use them. Put your innovative ideas into practice. If you tell people to be innovative, encourage the process and allow the results to shine. The worst thing you can do is encourage ideas and not implement them.

—Adapted from “5 Ways to Foster Innovation” by Lorie Watson, www.brandon-hall.com

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date
Military ACHE Luncheon - USS Missouri Battleship
April 5,2013 11:00-12:30
Meet at 10:45 at the pier
Guest speaker:
BG Dennis D. Doyle  
 

HFMA Annual Conference
1.5 ACHE credit hours available
April 15, 2013 3:00p.m.- 4:30p.m.
 
Face-to-Face program
April 30, 2013
 

Hawaii-Pacific ACHE Chapter Social
Kapiolani Medical Center for Women and Children
May 21, 2013  5:00P.m.- 6:00 p.m.


Summer Outing
June 15, 2013

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529