Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Summer 2013
In This Issue
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Recent Chapter Events
News from the Education Committee
Summer Calendar of Events
Obtaining your FACHE Credential
Education Calendar of Events
Spring 2013 Financial Report
New Fellows, Recertified Fellows and New Members
Hawaii-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Leadership Development Program
National News - Summer 2013
Other National News
Focus on Professional Growth
Avoid Complacency in Presentations
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
CHAPTER OFFICERS
REGENT
Coral Andrews, FACHE
coral@hawaiihealthconnector.com  


PRESIDENT
Martha Smith, FACHE
Martha.Smith@kapiolani.org  


PRESIDENT-ELECT
Darlena Chadwick
dchadwick@queens.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
LCDR Daren Verhulst, FACHE
Daren.Verhulst@fe.navy.mil  


TREASURER
Steve Robertson, FACHE
Steve.Robertson@hawaiipacifichealth.org  


DIRECTORS
Art Gladstone, FACHE
Art.Gladstone@straub.net

LTC Tanya Peacock, FACHE
peacock4@hawaii.edu  

LCDR Robert Rawleigh
Robert.Rawleigh@med.navy.mil  

Lance Segawa, FACHE
lsegawa1@hhsc.org    


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Jennifer Dacumos
Jennifer.Dacumos@palimomi.org  


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
Jen.Chahanovich@palimomi.org

Focus on Professional Growth

Create an individual development plan to become a stronger leader and colleague. Pick one quality about yourself that you would like to change, and then answer the following questions:

  • If I improve [area you want to strengthen], how will I benefit? Figure out what’s in it for you. If you won’t benefit in some way, you aren’t likely to commit to the change. Example: If I improve how I show my appreciation, I will improve my relationships.
  • How will others benefit? Describe how the change will positively affect your colleagues, employees, boss, team and organization. Example: My employees will know that I appreciate them, and that will boost their morale. They’ll be happier and more productive, and that will decrease turnover.
  • How will changing this behavior lead me to reach my professional and personal goals? Example: I’ll have a happier, more productive team, which increases our chances of hitting our targets. Showing my family and friends my appreciation will strengthen those relationships.
  • What will happen if I don’t change? Example: I could lose valuable employees. That turnover could kill our productivity and our chances of hitting our goals.
  • What will be the cost of changing this behavior? Will you have to give up something? How much time will it take? Example: It takes only minutes a day to recognize someone’s hard work.


— Adapted from “Is That Development Goal Really Worth It?” by Dan McCarthy, Great Leadership, www.greatleadershipbydan.com

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date
ACHE Annual Chapter Breakfast (1.5 credits)
Hawai'i Prince Hotel
July 17, 2013, 7:00AM - 8:00AM


ACHE Military Luncheon (Tentative)
Location TBD
July 25, 2013, 12:00 noon - 1:30PM 


ACHE / HIMSS Panel Discussion (1.5 credits)
Location: TBD
September 12, 2013, 11:30AM - 1:00PM


ACHE Military Luncheon (Tentative)
Location: TBD
October 31, 2013, 12:00 noon - 1:30PM
 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529