Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Fall 2013
In This Issue
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Guam Local Program Council
Recent Chapter Events
News from the Education Committee
Chapter Awards
Fall 2013 Calendar of Events
Back by Popular Demand: Obtaining your FACHE Credential
Fall 2013 Education Calendar of Events
Fall 2013 Financial Report
Membership: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
National News - Fall 2013
Finding the “Motive” in Motivation
Rethink Your Meeting Structure
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
CHAPTER OFFICERS
REGENT
Coral Andrews, FACHE
coral@hawaiihealthconnector.com  


PRESIDENT
Martha Smith, FACHE
Martha.Smith@kapiolani.org  


PRESIDENT-ELECT
Darlena Chadwick
dchadwick@queens.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
LCDR Daren Verhulst, FACHE
Daren.Verhulst@fe.navy.mil  


TREASURER
Steve Robertson, FACHE
Steve.Robertson@hawaiipacifichealth.org  

 

SECRETARY
Gidget Ruscetta
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org
  

 

DIRECTORS
Art Gladstone, FACHE
Art.Gladstone@straub.net

LTC Tanya Peacock, FACHE
peacock4@hawaii.edu  

LCDR Robert Rawleigh, FACHE
Robert.Rawleigh@med.navy.mil  

Lance Segawa, FACHE
lsegawa1@hhsc.org    

 

STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Jennifer Dacumos
Jennifer.Dacumos@palimomi.org  

 

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
Jen.Chahanovich@palimomi.org

 

Message from the Regent
Coral T. Andrews, FACHE

REFRESH

In March 2013, Deborah J. Bowen, FACHE, CAE, transitioned into the role of President and CEO of ACHE. As with all transitions, it provides for an opportunity to REFRESH.  

ACHE is taking steps to do just that....as a member customer of ACHE, it's important for you to know that there are areas where deliberate focus and discussion is underway in an effort to add additional value to your member experience.  

These include:

  • an evaluation of a new association management system that is expected to have significant benefits in improved customer service, management intelligence and chapter integration.
  • a benchmarking and evaluation of the 2014-2016 Strategic Plan that is available for review on the ACHE website.  Input was received from Regents, Chapter leaders and members via a public comment process in May.

Members, too, have a role in positively shaping ACHE.  You have an opportunity to provide input to the 2014-2016 Strategic Plan. The deadline for comments is Sept 30, 2013. A link is provided below. If you would like to provide your feedback, please take a moment to review the proposed 2014–2016 Strategic Plan (PDF) and send your thoughts, comments and ideas for improvement. Final changes will be presented and approved in November. Direct your email response to StrategicPlanFeedback@ache.org

The healthcare industry is undergoing a REFRESH with the continued implementation of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. Aligning the professional development focus and associated priorities to support that process are essential to the successful development of the informed workforce that is necessary to drive through change.

 

Use this time to REFRESH your professional goals and pursue Fellow status.    

 

Your chapter leaders, along with ACHE online resources, are available to assist you in this process. Let us know how we can help.

 

Regards,

Coral


Coral T. Andrews, FACHE
Regent for Hawaii/Pacific

Next Article
Save the Date
ACHE / HIMSS Panel Discussion (1.5 face-to-face credits)
Location: Kapi'olani Auditorium
September 12, 2013, 11:30AM - 1:00PM


Come join us for what is still one of the most challenging topics in the health care industry!  Electronic Health Record (EHR) adoption and interoperability at a community level is a fundamental goal of health care reform and perhaps one of the basic challenges for global improvements in health care quality.  Attend this collaborative networking and educational event to discuss the strategies for successful EHR implementation.  Come participate and experience the discussion as Hawai’i may very well be at the national forefront with respect to collaborative EHR implementation!

 

Networking Lunch (Guam Local Program Council)
Fiesta World Cafe at Tuman Bay
September 27, 2013, Time TBD

 

ACHE Military Luncheon (Tentative)
Location: TBD
October 31, 2013, 12:00 noon - 1:30PM

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529