Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Winter 2013
In This Issue
Message from your ACHE Regent, Winter 2013
Message from the Chapter President
Guam Local Program Council
Recent Chapter Events
Investigate Your Leadership DNA: The ACHE 2013 Chapter Leaders Conference
News from the Education Committee
Leadership Development Program
Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter Leadership election results for 2014
Winter 2013 Calendar of Events
Winter 2013 Education Calendar of Events
Winter 2013 Financial Report
Membership: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
National News - Winter 2013
Lead by Example: Know the Qualities of a Good Leader
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
CHAPTER OFFICERS
REGENT
Coral Andrews, FACHE
coral@hawaiihealthconnector.com  


PRESIDENT
Martha Smith, FACHE
Martha.Smith@kapiolani.org  


PRESIDENT-ELECT
Darlena Chadwick
dchadwick@queens.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
LCDR Daren Verhulst, FACHE
Daren.Verhulst@fe.navy.mil  


TREASURER
Steve Robertson, FACHE
Steve.Robertson@hawaiipacifichealth.org  

 

SECRETARY
Gidget Ruscetta
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org
  

 

DIRECTORS
Art Gladstone, FACHE
Art.Gladstone@straub.net

LTC Tanya Peacock, FACHE
peacock4@hawaii.edu  

CDR Robert Rawleigh, FACHE
Robert.Rawleigh@med.navy.mil  

Lance Segawa, FACHE
lsegawa1@hhsc.org    

 

STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Jennifer Dacumos
Jennifer.Dacumos@palimomi.org  

 

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
Jen.Chahanovich@palimomi.org

 

Message from the Chapter President
Martha Smith, FACHE

 

Aloha Everyone,

It’s hard to believe this year is coming to a close.  It seems as if we are just getting started! Your board team has done a phenomenal job this year.  I am very proud of the committee work and projects that we have completed.

  • LTC Tanya Peacock, FACHE, took the lead in a pilot leadership development program, resulting in a ‘revamped’ set of governing documents for the chapter.
  • CDR Robert Rawleigh, FACHE, did a fantastic job in coordinating educational offerings for 2013 and 2014, in addition to developing a scholarship program and process for the chapter.
  • Art Gladstone, FACHE, and Nick Hughey, FACHE, took the lead in engaging the Maui healthcare leadership which we hope will result in new members.
  • Our newsletter committee, led by Gidget Ruscetta, was recognized for their updated and comprehensive new look.

All of these initiatives have taken a lot of time and effort; it is because of this hard work that we have developed a strong infrastructure to carry forward into 2014 and beyond.

Congratulations to our incoming president, Darlena Chadwick, FACHE, and our president-elect, Lance Segawa, FACHE. We are very fortunate to have a succession plan made up of strong, committed healthcare leaders for our organization. I would also like to congratulate our incoming board officers and directors. Our election results can be found in the article entitled, "Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter Leadership election results for 2014" further on in the newsletter.

Thanks so much to everyone for your support and feedback throughout the year. Our chapter is only as strong as our membership. Please consider getting involved so we can make 2014 the most successful year ever.

Happy Holidays everyone and we look forward to seeing you at our 2014 events.

All the best,


Martha B. Smith, FACHE
President

 

 

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

Lunch and Learn Event (Guam Local Program Council)
Proa Restaurant in Hagatna
December 18, 2013, time TBD
(Contact LCDR Daren Verhust for precise timing)

 

ACHE Qualified Education Program (1.5 face-to-face credits)
Location: Kapi'olani Auditorium
February 6, 2014, 11:30AM - 1:00PM


Come join us for what is a very pertinent topic in the health care industry!  With the global focus on health care quality, it will be increasingly important for organizations to consider structured management frameworks to achieve operational excellence.  Come participate and learn best practices for leveraging Lean and Six Sigma concepts to enhance healthcare operations!

 

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529