Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2014
In This Issue
Message from your ACHE Regent, Spring 2014
Message from the Chapter President
Guam Local Program Council
Recent Chapter Events
Regent Awards presented to Martha B. Smith, FACHE, CEO
News from the Education Committee
Hawaii-Pacific Chapter of ACHE partners with the Shidler College of Business
Shidler College of Business launches Distance Learning Executive MBA Health Care Management Program
Spring 2014 Calendar of Events
Spring 2014 Education Calendar
Spring 2014 Financial Report
Membership: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
National News - Spring 2014
Got Measles?
Hospitals and healthcare organizations throughout Hawai‘i and the rest of the nation are feeling the effects of a normal saline (NS) shortage.
Military Health System (MHS) Governance Reform and the Establishment of the Enhanced Multi-Service Market (eMSM) Hawaii
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
CHAPTER OFFICERS

 

REGENT
Coral Andrews, FACHE
andrewsc@Hawaii.rr.com


PRESIDENT
Darlena Chadwick, FACHE
dchadwick@queens.org


PRESIDENT-ELECT
Lance Segawa, FACHE
lsegawa1@hhsc.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
LCDR Daren Verhulst, FACHE
Daren.Verhulst@fe.navy.mil  


TREASURER
Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org 

 

SECRETARY
Selma Yamamoto
syamamoto@queens.org
  

 

DIRECTORS
Art Gladstone, FACHE
Art.Gladstone@straub.net

LTC Tanya Peacock, FACHE
peacock4@hawaii.edu  

CDR Robert Rawleigh, FACHE
Robert.Rawleigh@med.navy.mil  

Micah Ewing, MBA
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org    

Major Charlotte Hildebrand, FACHE
charlotte.l.hildebrand.mil@mail.mil

Lt. John Piccone
john.piconne@med.navy.mil  

Nick Hughey
nhughey@hhsc.org  

Jennifer Dacumos
Jennifer.Dacumos@palimomi.org   
 


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Stella Laroza
stella.laroza@straub.net  

 

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Martha Smith, FACHE
Martha.smith@kapiolani.org

 

Message from the Chapter President
Darlena Chadwick, BSN, MSN, FACHE

Aloha Everyone,

We have some very exciting things happening in our chapter and I want to mention a few. We had the very successful meeting with Ian Lazarus speaking on total quality management and six-sigma, he is an outstanding speaker and we had great attendance.

Additionally we have opened a dialog with the University of Hawaii, Shidler School of Business, for co-developing a MBA in Healthcare Management degree/concentration to satisfy the unique market needs of our community. Coral Andrews, FACHE; Martha Smith, FACHE; and LTC Tanya Peacock, FACHE are leading this project. They have shown incredible leadership and vision and are helping build community interest in the program. 

We had our ACHE chapter social and FACHE discussion which was a great session that offered members an opportunity to learn and ask questions about the road to fellowship. I want to thank LCDR Robert Rawleigh, FACHE, and his committee for the exceptional job lining up educational sessions for the chapter. Our goal continues to be to bring relevant educational opportunities here in Hawaii that satisfies face-to-face credit requirements. We also want to thank all of our great sponsors for making this possible. 

We have a need for volunteers for several committees—newsletter, sponsorship, and education. This is an excellent time to get involved in our chapter.  We want your voice heard so please come share your innovative ideas! We have two members leaving Hawaii this summer and they will be greatly missed. Thank you to LCDR Rawleigh and LTC Tanya Peacock for all the dedication and commitment they have provided to our chapter.

We are very proud of our outstanding newsletter. We hope you are enjoying it and we welcome ideas for articles and feedback from you. This quarter's articles are focused on healthcare challenges faced in Hawaii. Thanks to all of you for your continuing support and participation. Please take advantage of our educational offerings and don’t hesitate to let us know how we can be of service to you.

Respectfully,

Darlena Chadwick, BSN, MSN, FACHE

 

 

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

ACHE Qualified Education Program (1.5 face-to-face credits)
Location: Ala Moana Hotel
HFMA Annual Conference Panel Discussion
April 21
, 2014, 3PM - 4PM 


"Physician-Hospital Integration in the 21st Century"

With the tumultuous and changing landscape in the healthcare industry, physician and hospital integration is paramount.  Come participate and hear from successful leaders on this topic. 

 

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529