Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2014
In This Issue
Message from your ACHE Regent, Spring 2014
Message from the Chapter President
Guam Local Program Council
Recent Chapter Events
Regent Awards presented to Martha B. Smith, FACHE, CEO
News from the Education Committee
Hawaii-Pacific Chapter of ACHE partners with the Shidler College of Business
Shidler College of Business launches Distance Learning Executive MBA Health Care Management Program
Spring 2014 Calendar of Events
Spring 2014 Education Calendar
Spring 2014 Financial Report
Membership: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
National News - Spring 2014
Got Measles?
Hospitals and healthcare organizations throughout Hawai‘i and the rest of the nation are feeling the effects of a normal saline (NS) shortage.
Military Health System (MHS) Governance Reform and the Establishment of the Enhanced Multi-Service Market (eMSM) Hawaii
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
CHAPTER OFFICERS

 

REGENT
Coral Andrews, FACHE
andrewsc@Hawaii.rr.com


PRESIDENT
Darlena Chadwick, FACHE
dchadwick@queens.org


PRESIDENT-ELECT
Lance Segawa, FACHE
lsegawa1@hhsc.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
LCDR Daren Verhulst, FACHE
Daren.Verhulst@fe.navy.mil  


TREASURER
Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org 

 

SECRETARY
Selma Yamamoto
syamamoto@queens.org
  

 

DIRECTORS
Art Gladstone, FACHE
Art.Gladstone@straub.net

LTC Tanya Peacock, FACHE
peacock4@hawaii.edu  

CDR Robert Rawleigh, FACHE
Robert.Rawleigh@med.navy.mil  

Micah Ewing, MBA
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org    

Major Charlotte Hildebrand, FACHE
charlotte.l.hildebrand.mil@mail.mil

Lt. John Piccone
john.piconne@med.navy.mil  

Nick Hughey
nhughey@hhsc.org  

Jennifer Dacumos
Jennifer.Dacumos@palimomi.org   
 


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Stella Laroza
stella.laroza@straub.net  

 

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Martha Smith, FACHE
Martha.smith@kapiolani.org

 

Recent Chapter Events
Lieutenant Colonel Hugh McLean Jr., FACHE; Lieutenant Colonel Tanya Peacock, FACHE; Gidget Ruscetta, and Micah Ewing

The Hawaii-Pacific Chapter of ACHE hosted an event for 1.5 qualified education credits on February 6, 2014. Mr. Ian Lazarus, managing partner at Creative Healthcare (CHC) in San Diego, provided an interactive session regarding “Lean, Six Sigma and Culture Change: Ingredients for Success in the New Era of Reform” at the Queens Conference Center, Honolulu, HI. 

  
Lean Six Sigma training with Mr. Ian Lazarus:  From Left to Right - Robert Rawleigh, 
Ian Lazarus, and Coral Andrews at the Queen's Conference Center

 

A Hawaii-Pacific chapter social event took place on Thursday, March 13 from 5:30-7:00 p.m. at the Queens Conference Center. We had a great dialogue on pointers for preparing and taking the BOG Exam. Thanks to the many members who recently passed the exam for sharing thier experiences and tips. As you can see from the picture, we had a great turnout. Please look for the link in a follow up correspondence that will include study questions, contact information and additional tips, as we promised. Also, feel free to contact any board member for further assistance!


 
Board of Governors Exam Social Event Attendees


Future events


Another local ACHE event will be held in conjunction with the HFMA conference, consisting of a panel discussion about physician-hospital integration in the 21st century. Approved for 1.5 face-to-face education credits, this event take place on April 21, 3:00-4:30 p.m. at the Ala Moana hotel. Panelists include Dr. Whitney Limm of the Queen’s Medical Center; Mr. Money Atwal, CFO/CIO HHSC East Hawaii Region; Dr. Gerard Livaudais, HPH Executive Director Hawaii Health Partners and a panelist from Castle Medical Center.


An ACHE Hawaii Program will take place September 15-18, 2014 at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort & Spa. More detailed information will follow in subsequent newsletters.

 

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

ACHE Qualified Education Program (1.5 face-to-face credits)
Location: Ala Moana Hotel
HFMA Annual Conference Panel Discussion
April 21
, 2014, 3PM - 4PM 


"Physician-Hospital Integration in the 21st Century"

With the tumultuous and changing landscape in the healthcare industry, physician and hospital integration is paramount.  Come participate and hear from successful leaders on this topic. 

 

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529