Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Winter 2014
In This Issue
Message from your ACHE Regent, Winter 2014
Message from the Chapter President
Guam Local Program Council
Recent Chapter Events
News from the Education Committee
Healthcare Finance - For Non-Financial Healthcare Executives and Managers
Membership: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
Winter 2014 Calendar of Events
Winter 2014 Education Calendar
Fall 2014 Financial Report
Diversity, Inclusion, and Cultural Competence A Review of the Hawaii-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Panel Discussion
Preparing for Ebola: Essential Elements for Health Care Facilities
National News - Winter 2014
The Secrets to Career Fulfillment
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
What topic interests you most as an ACHE member and health care leader?
Leadership and Governance
Diversity and Inclusion
Advances in Delivery of Care
FACHE Credentialling Resources and Exam Preparation
Industry Updates
CHAPTER OFFICERS

 

REGENT
Coral Andrews, FACHE
andrewsc@hawaii.rr.com


PRESIDENT
Darlena Chadwick, FACHE
dchadwick@queens.org


PRESIDENT-ELECT
Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org

CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
LT Joseph Fromknecht

joseph.fromknecht@med.navy.mil


TREASURER
Selma Yamamoto
syamamoto@queens.org 


SECRETARY
Natalie Pagoria
npagoria@hawaiihie.org


DIRECTORS
Art Gladstone, FACHE
Art.Gladstone@straub.net
Micah Ewing, MBA
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org    

MAJ Charlotte Hildebrand, FACHE
charlotte.l.hildebrand.mil@mail.mil

Lt. John Piccone
john.piconne@med.navy.mil  

Nick Hughey
nhughey@hhsc.org  

Jennifer Dacumos
Jennifer.Dacumos@palimomi.org   
 


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Stella Laroza
stella.laroza@straub.net  

 

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Martha Smith, FACHE
Martha.smith@kapiolani.org

 

Recent Chapter Events
Hugh McLean & Kelly Wheeler
 

Hawaii-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Diversity & Inclusion Panel Discussion

The Hawaii-Pacific Chapter of ACHE hosted a Diversity & Inclusion panel discussion for 1.5 Face-to-Face education credits on November 19, 2014 at Tripler Army Medical Center.  Distinguished speakers included moderator, Mr. Jim Gauss, Chairman of Board Services, Witt/Kieffer, Ms. Diane Paloma, Director of the Native Hawaiian Health Program for The Queen's Health System, Ms. Velois Bower, Senior Vice President of Diversity and Inclusion for CHRISTUS Health (Dallas, TX) and the new Commanding General of the Army Pacific Regional Medical Command, Brigadier General Patrick Sargent. The event was highly successful with over 45 members and guests present.  The panel discussion focused on the importance of diversity in the healthcare environment and how inclusion leads to better patient outcomes, increased revenues, and increased patient safety.

 

 
Pictured above from Left to Right:  LTC Hugh McLean, Chair, Hawaii-Pacific ACHE Education Committee; BG Patrick Sargent, Commanding General (CEO equivalent), Army Pacific Regional Medical Command; Ms. Diana Paloma, Director, Native Hawaii Health Program, Queen's Medical Center; Mr. Jim Gauss,  Witt/Kieffer; Ms. Velois Bowers, Vice President of Diversity & Inclusion, CHRISTUS Health; Ms. Coral Andrews, Hawaii-Pacific ACHE Regent; MAJ Charlotte Hildebrand, Chair Hawaii-Pacific ACHE Diversity Committee

Future events

Look forward to a military luncheon to be scheduled in January/February 2014 with guest speaker Mr. Art Wallace, Health Care and Nursing Executive & Consultant for Navy Medicine West.

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

UH Shidler College of Business Healthcare Finance Course

Take advantage of a unique opportunity to have a deep dive into healthcare finance!  For more information please go to the following link:  http://www.shidler.hawaii.edu/programs/executive/healthcare

Keiko B. Shimazu
kshimazu@hawaii.edu
(808) 956-7039

 

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529