Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Winter 2014
In This Issue
Message from your ACHE Regent, Winter 2014
Message from the Chapter President
Guam Local Program Council
Recent Chapter Events
News from the Education Committee
Healthcare Finance - For Non-Financial Healthcare Executives and Managers
Membership: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
Winter 2014 Calendar of Events
Winter 2014 Education Calendar
Fall 2014 Financial Report
Diversity, Inclusion, and Cultural Competence A Review of the Hawaii-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Panel Discussion
Preparing for Ebola: Essential Elements for Health Care Facilities
National News - Winter 2014
The Secrets to Career Fulfillment
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
What topic interests you most as an ACHE member and health care leader?
Leadership and Governance
Diversity and Inclusion
Advances in Delivery of Care
FACHE Credentialling Resources and Exam Preparation
Industry Updates
CHAPTER OFFICERS

 

REGENT
Coral Andrews, FACHE
andrewsc@hawaii.rr.com


PRESIDENT
Darlena Chadwick, FACHE
dchadwick@queens.org


PRESIDENT-ELECT
Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org

CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
LT Joseph Fromknecht

joseph.fromknecht@med.navy.mil


TREASURER
Selma Yamamoto
syamamoto@queens.org 


SECRETARY
Natalie Pagoria
npagoria@hawaiihie.org


DIRECTORS
Art Gladstone, FACHE
Art.Gladstone@straub.net
Micah Ewing, MBA
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org    

MAJ Charlotte Hildebrand, FACHE
charlotte.l.hildebrand.mil@mail.mil

Lt. John Piccone
john.piconne@med.navy.mil  

Nick Hughey
nhughey@hhsc.org  

Jennifer Dacumos
Jennifer.Dacumos@palimomi.org   
 


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Stella Laroza
stella.laroza@straub.net  

 

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Martha Smith, FACHE
Martha.smith@kapiolani.org

 

Healthcare Finance - For Non-Financial Healthcare Executives and Managers
Micah Ewing

The University of Hawai'i at Manoa Shidler College of Business is offering a valuable and timely course in healthcare finance, supportive of a busy professional schedule.  This information-abundant course enhances the healthcare leader's insight into the impact of decisions on the overall business, developing competencies to better predict healthcare business trends.  Knowledge from this course will arm students with skills to link clinical growth and improvement strategies to financial data, and strengthen presentations in the executive board room. 


The following are some of the fundamental learning targets of the course:

  • Fundamental accounting and finance concepts
  • Interpreting financial statements
  • Using financial performance metrics for healthcare business decision-making
  • Investment analysis, capital budgeting, and healthcare business risk analysis
  • Cost/volume/profit relationships; fixed and variable costs, and breakeven levels
  • Time value of money, financial ratio analysis, and opportunity costs
  • Financing a healthcare business and alternative sources of capital

More detailed course information is available at the Shidler College of Business healthcare executive program website:

http://www.shidler.hawaii.edu/programs/executive/healthcare


Faculty:

 

Hamid Pourjalali, Ph.D.
Professor of accounting, School of Accountancy, Shidler College of Business, University of Hawai'i at Manoa.  Donald A. Corbin Distinguished Professor in Accounting

 

Benjamin Bystrom, MBA
Lecturer, Shidler College of Business, University of Hawai'i at Manoa, Faculty Advisor, Financial Management Association.

 

Terri Fujii, MOA, CPA
Audit Partner, CW Associates, Hawai'i

 

Wendi Barber, MBA
Vice President of Finance and CFO.
Park Ridge Health, North Carolina

 

 

 

 

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

UH Shidler College of Business Healthcare Finance Course

Take advantage of a unique opportunity to have a deep dive into healthcare finance!  For more information please go to the following link:  http://www.shidler.hawaii.edu/programs/executive/healthcare

Keiko B. Shimazu
kshimazu@hawaii.edu
(808) 956-7039

 

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529