Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring Issue
In This Issue
Message from your ACHE Regent, Spring 2015
Message from the Chapter President
Guam Local Program Council
Recent Chapter Events
News from the Education Committee
Membership: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
Spring 2015 Calendar of Events
Spring 2015 Education Calendar
Spring 2015 Financial Report
Reflections on Diversity Within our Chapter
Risk of Infection from Contaminated Duodenoscopes
National News - Spring 2015
Five Methods to Engage a New Employee
Eliminate These Poor Listening Habits
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
What topic interests you most as an ACHE member and health care leader?
Leadership and Governance
Diversity and Inclusion
Advances in Delivery of Care
FACHE Credentialling Resources and Exam Preparation
Industry Updates
Test?
CHAPTER OFFICERS

 

REGENT
Coral Andrews, FACHE
andrewsc@hawaii.rr.com


PRESIDENT
Darlena Chadwick, FACHE
dchadwick@queens.org


PRESIDENT-ELECT
Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org

CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
LT Joseph Fromknecht

joseph.fromknecht@med.navy.mil


TREASURER
Selma Yamamoto
syamamoto@queens.org 


SECRETARY
Natalie Pagoria
npagoria@hawaiihie.org


DIRECTORS
Art Gladstone, FACHE
Art.Gladstone@straub.net
Micah Ewing, MBA
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org    

MAJ Charlotte Hildebrand, FACHE
charlotte.l.hildebrand.mil@mail.mil

Lt. John Piccone
john.piconne@med.navy.mil  

Nick Hughey
nhughey@hhsc.org  

Jennifer Dacumos
Jennifer.Dacumos@palimomi.org   
 


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Stella Laroza
stella.laroza@straub.net  

 

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Martha Smith, FACHE
Martha.smith@kapiolani.org

 

Eliminate These Poor Listening Habits
Richard Giardina

To be successful in the workplace, it is imperative to be a strong listener.  Listening enables leaders to not only take in information objectively before analyzing the information and using it to make decisions, but also to show respect to the person speaking.  If the below habits sound familiar, work to eliminate them.


Daydreaming
Drifting off as another person is speaking can lead to embarrassing moments of continually asking, “What did you say?”  Stay engaged during the conversation, and ask relevant questions as the speaker delves into the topic at hand.


Critiquing
When assessing a speaker’s appearance, clothing or habits, it’s difficult to hear the message he or she is trying to convey.  Focus on maintaining good eye contact to trigger your ability to concentrate.  The other person’s appearance is always less important than his or her message, and it is important to be respectful to the speaker.


Rehearsing
Considering your rebuttal to a specific point and forming an article in your head prevents you from focusing on the speaker’s presentation as a whole.  This practice will only hurt you in the long run.  You’ll miss important points of the conversation and will only be able to speak to one aspect of what was said instead of the presentation as a whole.  Take notes during the presentation and form your opinion as you go.  Once the speaker is done, take a moment to compose yourself and use your notes to craft your own speech.


Placating
This involves giving the appearance of being an engaged listener by nodding and agreeing with whatever you hear without actively engaging in what is being said.  A strong listener pays attention and challenges the speaker when necessary.  Focus on the presentation and actively listen, instead of pretending.

  
—Adapted from Communication Solutions December 2014 newsletter,
www.communicationbriefings.com
 

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

Spring Chapter Mingle

We will be having a chapter social event in May.  Stay tuned for more information on this event and take advantage of this opportunity to get to know your chapter officers and members.  Please feel free to bring a colleague who might be interested in joining our Chapter!  

Hawaii Financial Management Association (HFMA) Annual Conference

April 9-10 at the Ala Moana Hotel.  Focus is on the Affordable Care Act and Leadership into the future.  More details at www.hawaiihfma.org


 

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529