Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring Issue
In This Issue
Message from your ACHE Regent, Spring 2015
Message from the Chapter President
Guam Local Program Council
Recent Chapter Events
News from the Education Committee
Membership: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
Spring 2015 Calendar of Events
Spring 2015 Education Calendar
Spring 2015 Financial Report
Reflections on Diversity Within our Chapter
Risk of Infection from Contaminated Duodenoscopes
National News - Spring 2015
Five Methods to Engage a New Employee
Eliminate These Poor Listening Habits
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
What topic interests you most as an ACHE member and health care leader?
Leadership and Governance
Diversity and Inclusion
Advances in Delivery of Care
FACHE Credentialling Resources and Exam Preparation
Industry Updates
Test?
CHAPTER OFFICERS

 

REGENT
Coral Andrews, FACHE
andrewsc@hawaii.rr.com


PRESIDENT
Darlena Chadwick, FACHE
dchadwick@queens.org


PRESIDENT-ELECT
Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org

CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
LT Joseph Fromknecht

joseph.fromknecht@med.navy.mil


TREASURER
Selma Yamamoto
syamamoto@queens.org 


SECRETARY
Natalie Pagoria
npagoria@hawaiihie.org


DIRECTORS
Art Gladstone, FACHE
Art.Gladstone@straub.net
Micah Ewing, MBA
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org    

MAJ Charlotte Hildebrand, FACHE
charlotte.l.hildebrand.mil@mail.mil

Lt. John Piccone
john.piconne@med.navy.mil  

Nick Hughey
nhughey@hhsc.org  

Jennifer Dacumos
Jennifer.Dacumos@palimomi.org   
 


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Stella Laroza
stella.laroza@straub.net  

 

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Martha Smith, FACHE
Martha.smith@kapiolani.org

 

Recent Chapter Events
Kelly Wheeler

Hawaii MedXecellence Course for Military Healthcare Leaders

From 11-16 January 2015, over 40 Military Health System leaders participated in a week-long medical executive skills course, organized and presented by the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences at the Hale Koa in Honolulu.  The course was entitled “Critical Decision Making for Medical Executives:  Keys to Improving Healthcare Delivery.”  Topics included leading change and fostering resilience, the changing political environment and healthcare policy and governance to move Military Health into the next era, and a deeper dive into Performance Planning and how Lean Six Sigma tools can be used to drive strategic performance improvement.  Participants engaged in a hands-on A3 case study that focused on process and performance improvement in a health system with three medical facilities, which purposefully resembled the components of the Hawaii Military Health System.  Literally, A3 refers to a ledger size piece of paper, but in the world of Lean Six Sigma, it is a one page project report.  The one-page includes the problem, analysis of the process, root cause analysis, potential solutions, and an action plan.  The practice of using A3s enables a team to focus efforts and is an easy way to summarize work to others.    The course provided 36 hours of ACHE Qualified Education Credit for ACHE members.    


A course participant looks into the Lean tools used in the A3 group sessions

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

Spring Chapter Mingle

We will be having a chapter social event in May.  Stay tuned for more information on this event and take advantage of this opportunity to get to know your chapter officers and members.  Please feel free to bring a colleague who might be interested in joining our Chapter!  

Hawaii Financial Management Association (HFMA) Annual Conference

April 9-10 at the Ala Moana Hotel.  Focus is on the Affordable Care Act and Leadership into the future.  More details at www.hawaiihfma.org


 

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529