Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2016 Edition
In This Issue
Message from your ACHE Regent, Spring 2016
Message from the Chapter President, Spring 2016
Articles of Interest
Educating Clinicians About the Business of Healthcare
An Update on Antimicrobial Stewardship Programs in Hawai‘i Hospitals
The Gift of Hope - Lessons Learned Through Medical Missions
Calendars
Calendar of Events for Spring 2016
Education Calendar for Spring 2016
Committees and Events
Message from the Guam Local Program Council
Leaders Who Care: Meet Your New Chapter Board Members!
Diversity Programs: Effectiveness through Transparency and Accountability
News from the Education Committee
Membership: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
Spring 2016 Financial Report
Career and Leadership
Career Corner
ACHE National News - Spring 2016
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
What would you most like to read about in our newsletter?
Leadership Topics
Member Spotlight: People Making a Difference
Healthcare Technology Projects and Trends
Career Development
Diversity Topics
Industry Changes, Issues, and Legislation
Clinical Topics including Quality and Trends
CHAPTER OFFICERS
 

REGENT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
jen.chahanovich@palimomi.org


PRESIDENT
Art Gladstone, FACHE
art.gladstone@straub.net

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Nick Hughey, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
Chuck Tanner, FACHE
chuck.tanner88@gmail.com

TREASURER
Selma Yamamoto
syamamoto@queens.org 


SECRETARY
Nancy Wilson
nancy.wilson@palimomi.org

DIRECTORS
Micah Ewing
micah.ewing@kapiolani.org

Maj Charlotte Hildebrand, FACHE
clhildebrand@hotmail.com

Suzie So-Miyahira
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

Stefan Fedusiv
ideasovercoffee@gmail.com

Tamara Pappas
tpappas@Queens.Org

Bobbie Ornellas, FACHE
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Emiline Buhler
emiline.buhler@kapiolani.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

 

Message from your ACHE Regent, Spring 2016
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE

Welcome to 2016!

I’d like to thank Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE for her leadership in 2015 as the Chapter President. Gidget and the board did an outstanding job moving the Chapter forward with educational programs, networking events and the opportunity for Face to Face credits. 

Help me welcome the incoming Chapter President - Art Gladstone, FACHE. Art is the CEO of Straub Clinic & Hospital and Pali Momi Medical Center and has been dedicated to our local Chapter for a number of years. You can expect another year of programs and networking opportunities for our members.

If your goal is to become board certified as a Fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives, I have an important update for members: there is a change from the prior promotion period of March 1–June 30 to allow Fellow applicants more time to meet all requirements by year-end, thereby giving them the opportunity to participate in the Convocation Ceremony held at the annual Congress on Healthcare Leadership. The Board of Governors Exam Fee Waiver Campaign began February 1, 2016 and ends May 31, 2016.  Please visit the ACHE website for more information and check out how to prepare for the Board of Governors Exam on line.

My contact information is listed below – call or email anytime.


Jen H. Chahanovich, FACHE
Wilcox Memorial Hospital
President & CEO
Office:  (808) 245-1122
Cell:      (808) 524-6644
Jen.chahanovich@wilcoxhealth.org

Next Article
Save the Date

 

HFMA Panel Discussion

The Hawai'i Chapter of Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA) hosts their annual 2016 conference, April 21-22.  Dr. Kenric Murayama will host a panel discussion entitled, "Engaging Physician Leaders: The 'What's In It For Me (WIIFM)?' Problem.

Date:  April 21, 2016, 2:00PM
Place:  Ala Moana Hotel

As a bonus, you may be able to receive additional qualified education credits by attending the other conference sessions!  Please inquire with Education Chair, Angel Vargas for more information. 

Spring Social Mixer

Date:  May 10, 2016

Place:  Hasr Bistro
          31 N. Pauahi Street , Honolulu

6:00 PM-6:30 PM – Information presentation on ACHE and Membership Benefits (for prospective members)
6:30 PM – 8:30 PM social mixer (Heavy Pupus)  (Open to all members)


 


 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529