Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Summer 2016
In This Issue
Message from your ACHE Regent, Summer 2016
Message from the Chapter President, Summer 2016
Original Articles by ACHE Members
Career Development: Whose responsibility is it?
Recent Chapter Events
Social Mixer Event
(To Infinity and) Going Beyond! The 2016 Annual HFMA Conference
Calendars
Calendar of Events for Summer 2016
Education Calendar for Summer 2016
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Membership: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
News from the Guam Program Council
Summer 2016 Financial Report
ACHE National News - Summer 2016
In the News
Career and Leadership
Career Corner
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare leader, what issue concerns you most?
Medicare / Medicaid
Physician Shortages
Nursing Shortage
Long-term Care
Meaningful Use and Pay for Quality
The Affordable Care Act in general
Individual Insurance Exchange
CHAPTER OFFICERS
 

REGENT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
jen.chahanovich@palimomi.org


PRESIDENT
Art Gladstone, FACHE
art.gladstone@straub.net

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Nick Hughey, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
Chuck Tanner, FACHE
chuck.tanner88@gmail.com

TREASURER
Selma Yamamoto
syamamoto@queens.org 


SECRETARY
Nancy Wilson
nancy.wilson@palimomi.org

DIRECTORS
Micah Ewing
micah.ewing@kapiolani.org

Maj Charlotte Hildebrand, FACHE
clhildebrand@hotmail.com

Suzie So-Miyahira
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

Stefan Fedusiv
ideasovercoffee@gmail.com

Tamara Pappas
tpappas@Queens.Org

Bobbie Ornellas, FACHE
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Emiline Buhler
emiline.buhler@kapiolani.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

 

Message from the Chapter President, Summer 2016
Art Gladstone, FACHE

Welcome to our summer newsletter. As the summer months are upon us we see the sun rising earlier and setting later, yet I’m sure many of us still feel that there does not seem to be enough hours in the day to get everything done that we have on our healthcare plates. Our norm certainly has become constant change. 

Well the good news is we are all in this together and belonging to our great organization, ACHE, which brings strength to us collectively as a group.  Let me tell you, we rock as a group! Our chapter was recently acknowledged by ACHE with the 2016 Chapter Distinction Award. CONGRATULATIONS! The purpose of ACHE’s Chapter Awards Program is to ensure the delivery of high-quality services to ACHE members at the local level. ACHE designed this program to provide chapter performance incentives and acknowledge outstanding accomplishments based on objectively measured results. 
The program’s goals are as follows:

  • Create a system to objectively compare chapter performance and manage current and future success based on a common set of indicators. This management system identifies chapters that achieve superior results so best practices can be shared with other chapters.

  • Provide well-deserved recognition to top-performing chapters. All recognition is based on measurable outcomes of chapter performance. Chapters are recognized for annual performance and sustained performance over time. By providing this recognition, ACHE reinforces the added value of chapter membership to members. You can find more information about the awards program at the ACHE website.

In a nutshell….our Hawai‘i-Pacific Chapter is among the top performing chapters. Again, congratulations to you all.


I’d like to thank the board and committee members for all of the work and energy they have brought forward in creating, planning, and executing on many activities to keep our chapter active. Please be sure to read through the newsletter to see the highlights of the Spring Mixer Social that was held on May 10 at HASR Bistro and was very well attended by both current members and guests seeking information about our organization. There are also important education committee updates that you’ll want to read up on as well as lots of other important information.


So with that ….enjoy and I wish you all a safe and productive summer.

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date
July 27:  Annual ACHE Breakfast

Please come join us at the Hawai'i Prince for breakfast and networking!

Date:  Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Time:  7:00AM - 8:30AM
Place:  Hawai'i Prince Hotel, Haleakala / Kilauea Rooms
RSVP:  Kristene Murakami at 808-522-3109; kristene.murakami@hawaiipacifichealth.org

2016 AONE Annual Conference "Leadership In Action.."

This year's Annual Conference and partnership with the AONE promises to offer even more valuable educational and networking opportunities!

Date:  November 9 and November 10, (7:30AM - 4:00PM)
Place:  Royal Hawaiian Hotel.
Information & Registration:   http://www.aonehawaii.org/#!save-the-date/cgqm

2016 AONE Annual Conference:  Call for Abstracts

Healthcare leaders are invited to submit abstracts for presentation!

http://www.aonehawaii.org/#!abstracts/cot0

Deadline:  Friday, July 8, 2016

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529