Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Summer 2016
In This Issue
Message from your ACHE Regent, Summer 2016
Message from the Chapter President, Summer 2016
Original Articles by ACHE Members
Career Development: Whose responsibility is it?
Recent Chapter Events
Social Mixer Event
(To Infinity and) Going Beyond! The 2016 Annual HFMA Conference
Calendars
Calendar of Events for Summer 2016
Education Calendar for Summer 2016
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Membership: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
News from the Guam Program Council
Summer 2016 Financial Report
ACHE National News - Summer 2016
In the News
Career and Leadership
Career Corner
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare leader, what issue concerns you most?
Medicare / Medicaid
Physician Shortages
Nursing Shortage
Long-term Care
Meaningful Use and Pay for Quality
The Affordable Care Act in general
Individual Insurance Exchange
CHAPTER OFFICERS
 

REGENT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
jen.chahanovich@palimomi.org


PRESIDENT
Art Gladstone, FACHE
art.gladstone@straub.net

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Nick Hughey, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
Chuck Tanner, FACHE
chuck.tanner88@gmail.com

TREASURER
Selma Yamamoto
syamamoto@queens.org 


SECRETARY
Nancy Wilson
nancy.wilson@palimomi.org

DIRECTORS
Micah Ewing
micah.ewing@kapiolani.org

Maj Charlotte Hildebrand, FACHE
clhildebrand@hotmail.com

Suzie So-Miyahira
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

Stefan Fedusiv
ideasovercoffee@gmail.com

Tamara Pappas
tpappas@Queens.Org

Bobbie Ornellas, FACHE
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Emiline Buhler
emiline.buhler@kapiolani.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

 

Recent Chapter Events
Social Mixer Event
Micah Ewing, MBA

In the heart of downtown on Pauahi Street, HASR Bistro was the setting for our most recent social mixer event. On May 10, 58 members participated in a fun, relaxing evening of networking, heavy pupus, drinks, and some chapter information sharing. In case you were curious, and as a bit of trivia, HASR is an acronym that stands for 'Highly Allocated Spoiled Rotten,' a name for the wine club started by owner Terry Kakazu and her friends. Certainly with today's frenetic pace of healthcare, we can all agree with "highly allocated." We did try to "spoil' our members with 5 door prizes and some nice heavy pupus.   

Nick Hughey and Gidget Ruscetta kicked off the evening with a short orientation of the reasons to be involved in our local chapter. We had an introduction from our Regent, Jen Chahanovich, also discussing chapter and Regent awards. Finally, we had some introductions by our Education, Diversity, Membership, Sponsorship, and Communications committee chairs, providing the reasons and opportunities to get involved at a board committee level.




(Left to Right):  Micah Ewing, Communications Chair, Nick Hughey, President-Elect, Charlotte Hildebrand, Diversity Chair, and Gidget Ruscetta, Immediate Past President


We certainly want to thank you for your participation in making this event a success and thank our President-Elect and Membership Chair, Nick Hughey for organizing the event. We hope to see you at our Annual Chapter Breakfast on July 27 at the Hawaii Prince. And as always, the invitation to get involved in our committees and events is always open--please take advantage of the opportunities our chapter has to offer. 

Micah,
Chair, Newsletter and Communications Committees

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date
July 27:  Annual ACHE Breakfast

Please come join us at the Hawai'i Prince for breakfast and networking!

Date:  Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Time:  7:00AM - 8:30AM
Place:  Hawai'i Prince Hotel, Haleakala / Kilauea Rooms
RSVP:  Kristene Murakami at 808-522-3109; kristene.murakami@hawaiipacifichealth.org

2016 AONE Annual Conference "Leadership In Action.."

This year's Annual Conference and partnership with the AONE promises to offer even more valuable educational and networking opportunities!

Date:  November 9 and November 10, (7:30AM - 4:00PM)
Place:  Royal Hawaiian Hotel.
Information & Registration:   http://www.aonehawaii.org/#!save-the-date/cgqm

2016 AONE Annual Conference:  Call for Abstracts

Healthcare leaders are invited to submit abstracts for presentation!

http://www.aonehawaii.org/#!abstracts/cot0

Deadline:  Friday, July 8, 2016

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529