Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Summer 2016
In This Issue
Message from your ACHE Regent, Summer 2016
Message from the Chapter President, Summer 2016
Original Articles by ACHE Members
Career Development: Whose responsibility is it?
Recent Chapter Events
Social Mixer Event
(To Infinity and) Going Beyond! The 2016 Annual HFMA Conference
Calendars
Calendar of Events for Summer 2016
Education Calendar for Summer 2016
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Membership: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
News from the Guam Program Council
Summer 2016 Financial Report
ACHE National News - Summer 2016
In the News
Career and Leadership
Career Corner
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare leader, what issue concerns you most?
Medicare / Medicaid
Physician Shortages
Nursing Shortage
Long-term Care
Meaningful Use and Pay for Quality
The Affordable Care Act in general
Individual Insurance Exchange
CHAPTER OFFICERS
 

REGENT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
jen.chahanovich@palimomi.org


PRESIDENT
Art Gladstone, FACHE
art.gladstone@straub.net

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Nick Hughey, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
Chuck Tanner, FACHE
chuck.tanner88@gmail.com

TREASURER
Selma Yamamoto
syamamoto@queens.org 


SECRETARY
Nancy Wilson
nancy.wilson@palimomi.org

DIRECTORS
Micah Ewing
micah.ewing@kapiolani.org

Maj Charlotte Hildebrand, FACHE
clhildebrand@hotmail.com

Suzie So-Miyahira
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

Stefan Fedusiv
ideasovercoffee@gmail.com

Tamara Pappas
tpappas@Queens.Org

Bobbie Ornellas, FACHE
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Emiline Buhler
emiline.buhler@kapiolani.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

 

News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Maj Angel Vargas, FACHE

Aloha ACHE Hawai’i. My name is Angel Vargas and I am the Education Committee Chair for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE. Thank you for reading this quarter’s education update.

First and foremost, many thanks to those who attended our April 2016 education event in partnership with the Healthcare Financial Management Association’s (HFMA) Hawai’i Chapter. It was a great learning experience with excellent speakers and information. We appreciate your support in enhancing the conference with an ACHE presence. 

But we are not done there. On November 9-10, 2016, we have continuing education event being held in collaboration with the American Organization of Nurse Executives (AONE). The theme for this event is: Leadership in Action, Partnering for Success. This year’s conference contains an impressive set of dynamic speakers from the nursing and administrator leadership fields. Be on the lookout for email and website updates that will be shared over the next few months.

Next, are you looking to becoming a Board Certified Fellow of ACHE? Good news…our chapter has committed to supporting you in reaching that goal. To that end, we have secured several ACHE Board of Governors Exam (BOG) Study Sets available for checkout at three different locations: two on Oahu and one on Kauai. To sign-out for usage, you simply have to be a current member of ACHE, an active member in our Hawai’i-Pacific Chapter, and be eligible (or near eligible) to test for the BOG Exam. If qualified, please send me an email and I will connect you to the appropriate POCs.

If you wish to purchase your own study set ($240), please visit: https://www.ache.org/publications/product.aspx?pc=2198S.

In addition to the study sets, if you are interested in organizing or being a part of a BOG exam study group here on island, please contact me as well.

Lastly, the Education Committee continues to seek out energetic, detail-oriented individuals to help create, coordinate and/or volunteer at events. If interested in joining our team, contact me any time. 

Thank you again. Look forward to seeing you at the July 27 Breakfast event and AONE Conference! 

Major Angel L. Vargas, MBA, MHA, FACHE
Email:
angelvargasjr1@gmail.com
Cell: (219) 808-7355


Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date
July 27:  Annual ACHE Breakfast

Please come join us at the Hawai'i Prince for breakfast and networking!

Date:  Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Time:  7:00AM - 8:30AM
Place:  Hawai'i Prince Hotel, Haleakala / Kilauea Rooms
RSVP:  Kristene Murakami at 808-522-3109; kristene.murakami@hawaiipacifichealth.org

2016 AONE Annual Conference "Leadership In Action.."

This year's Annual Conference and partnership with the AONE promises to offer even more valuable educational and networking opportunities!

Date:  November 9 and November 10, (7:30AM - 4:00PM)
Place:  Royal Hawaiian Hotel.
Information & Registration:   http://www.aonehawaii.org/#!save-the-date/cgqm

2016 AONE Annual Conference:  Call for Abstracts

Healthcare leaders are invited to submit abstracts for presentation!

http://www.aonehawaii.org/#!abstracts/cot0

Deadline:  Friday, July 8, 2016

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529