Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Summer 2016
In This Issue
Message from your ACHE Regent, Summer 2016
Message from the Chapter President, Summer 2016
Original Articles by ACHE Members
Career Development: Whose responsibility is it?
Recent Chapter Events
Social Mixer Event
(To Infinity and) Going Beyond! The 2016 Annual HFMA Conference
Calendars
Calendar of Events for Summer 2016
Education Calendar for Summer 2016
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Membership: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
News from the Guam Program Council
Summer 2016 Financial Report
ACHE National News - Summer 2016
In the News
Career and Leadership
Career Corner
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare leader, what issue concerns you most?
Medicare / Medicaid
Physician Shortages
Nursing Shortage
Long-term Care
Meaningful Use and Pay for Quality
The Affordable Care Act in general
Individual Insurance Exchange
CHAPTER OFFICERS
 

REGENT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
jen.chahanovich@palimomi.org


PRESIDENT
Art Gladstone, FACHE
art.gladstone@straub.net

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Nick Hughey, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
Chuck Tanner, FACHE
chuck.tanner88@gmail.com

TREASURER
Selma Yamamoto
syamamoto@queens.org 


SECRETARY
Nancy Wilson
nancy.wilson@palimomi.org

DIRECTORS
Micah Ewing
micah.ewing@kapiolani.org

Maj Charlotte Hildebrand, FACHE
clhildebrand@hotmail.com

Suzie So-Miyahira
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

Stefan Fedusiv
ideasovercoffee@gmail.com

Tamara Pappas
tpappas@Queens.Org

Bobbie Ornellas, FACHE
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Emiline Buhler
emiline.buhler@kapiolani.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

 

Message from your ACHE Regent, Summer 2016
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE

Aloha,

The 2016 Congress in Chicago had many good sessions this year – the session that caught my attention was the CEO Circle session with Richard Pollack the President & CEO of the American Hospital Association. He spoke on leadership challenges that we will face over the next 10 years. I will summarize the key points from his lecture:

  1. We need to get to zero for patient harm and improve quality performance.
  2. Government pressures will not go away for payment models – pay for value.
  3. Access to capital for financially challenged hospitals will be problematic.
  4. Chronic care and the financial burden – this could also be an opportunity if we can address a way to decrease the cost of chronic care and improve the quality of care.
  5. Hospitals will need to be the employer of choice – offering a safe environment.
  6. Public perception of hospital pricing – we need to be even more transparent to the public.
  7. Access to care for all areas but especially behavior health.
  8. Tax exempt status for nonprofit hospitals and Community Health Needs Assessment/Plan.
  9. Pharmaceutical industry needs to change – help to be a part of the solution on cost.
  10. Patient experience and retail health care for convenience will be even more important.

Mr. Pollack said that if the health care community can’t figure out how to improve access while delivering an exceptional patient experience – Google or Amazon will…  We cannot stand still - we want to be Amazon not Barnes & Noble.

So with that being said – a time for change is here. The simple definition of change is to become different – we all recognize change is not always simple. The way we deliver care today will not be how we deliver care in the future... and the ACHE can help by providing trends in health care, education, and networking. I encourage the chapter members to utilize the resources at the ACHE.


Lastly, at the annual Chapter breakfast in July, I will be presenting two Regent's Awards - one to a young careerist, and one to a senior-level executive. I hope to see you on July 27.


If you have questions – feel free to contact me anytime.


Jen H. Chahanovich, FACHE
 Wilcox Memorial Hospital
 President & CEO
 Office:  808-245-1122
 Cell:      808-524-6644
Jen.chahanovich@wilcoxhealth.org 

 

Next Article
Save the Date
July 27:  Annual ACHE Breakfast

Please come join us at the Hawai'i Prince for breakfast and networking!

Date:  Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Time:  7:00AM - 8:30AM
Place:  Hawai'i Prince Hotel, Haleakala / Kilauea Rooms
RSVP:  Kristene Murakami at 808-522-3109; kristene.murakami@hawaiipacifichealth.org

2016 AONE Annual Conference "Leadership In Action.."

This year's Annual Conference and partnership with the AONE promises to offer even more valuable educational and networking opportunities!

Date:  November 9 and November 10, (7:30AM - 4:00PM)
Place:  Royal Hawaiian Hotel.
Information & Registration:   http://www.aonehawaii.org/#!save-the-date/cgqm

2016 AONE Annual Conference:  Call for Abstracts

Healthcare leaders are invited to submit abstracts for presentation!

http://www.aonehawaii.org/#!abstracts/cot0

Deadline:  Friday, July 8, 2016

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529