Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Fall 2016 Issue
In This Issue
Message from your ACHE Regent, Fall 2016
Message from the Chapter President, Fall 2016
Original Articles by ACHE Members
Physician Partnerships in the Age of Healthcare Transformation
Collaborative Partnerships - ACHE, AONE, and HSCN
Chapter Events
Leadership in Action - Partnering for Success: The 2016 AONE Hawai'i Conference
Calendars
Calendar of Events for Fall 2016
Education Calendar for Fall 2016
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Membership: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
News from the Guam Program Council
Fall 2016 Financial Report
ACHE National News - Fall 2016
Career and Leadership
Career Corner
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Collaborative Partnerships
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
CHAPTER OFFICERS
 

REGENT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
jen.chahanovich@palimomi.org


PRESIDENT
Art Gladstone, FACHE
art.gladstone@straub.net

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Nick Hughey, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
Chuck Tanner, FACHE
chuck.tanner88@gmail.com

TREASURER
Selma Yamamoto
syamamoto@queens.org 


SECRETARY
Nancy Wilson
nancy.wilson@palimomi.org

DIRECTORS
Micah Ewing
micah.ewing@kapiolani.org

Maj Charlotte Hildebrand, FACHE
clhildebrand@hotmail.com

Suzie So-Miyahira
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

Stefan Fedusiv
ideasovercoffee@gmail.com

Tamara Pappas
tpappas@Queens.Org

Bobbie Ornellas, FACHE
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Emiline Buhler
emiline.buhler@kapiolani.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

 

News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Maj Angel Vargas, FACHE

Aloha Team Hawai’i Pacific. It has been a busy year for our Chapter and it is only getting better.

On November 9-10, we will be holding a joint conference with the American College of Nursing Executives.  Our Chapter is sponsoring three distinct panel/speaking events with dynamic speakers all across the Healthcare Leadership and Management spectrum.  Some of our dynamic panelists/speakers, include Dr. Jonathan Burroughs (Burroughs Healthcare Consulting Network), Dr. Michael Frisina (The Frisina Group & Center for Influential Leadership) and Ms. Patti Harvey (Kaiser Permanente & Care Management Institute).

Good news!  Our continuing education credits have been formally approved! There will be up to 4.0 Face-to-Face Education Credits and 7.25 Qualified Education Credits at this year’s event.  This is a great value for the $395.

In addition, our Education Committee is dedicated to help you achieve your academic and professional development goals.  As mentioned in our last newsletter , we have secured three ACHE Board of Governors Exam (BOG) Study Sets available for checkout (a $240 value). There are staged at three (3) locations: two on Oahu and one on Kauai. To sign-out for usage, you simply have to be a current member of ACHE, an active member in our Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter, and be eligible (or near eligible) to test for the BOG Exam. If qualified, please send an email  to achehawaiieducation@gmail.com.  If you are interested in organizing or being a part of a BOG exam study group here on island, please let us know.

Next, below are some direct ACHE links to make your advancement to fellow a whole lot easier:
• Steps to Advance:
https://www.ache.org/mbership/credentialing/steps.cfm
• BOG Reference Material:
https://www.ache.org/mbership/credentialing/EXAM/referencemanual.cfm
• BOG Study Set:
https://www.ache.org/publications/product.aspx?pc=2198S
• BOG ACHE Review Course (19 Face-to-Face Credits/$1475): https://www.ache.org/mbership/credentialing/EXAM/exam-review-course.cfm 

Finally, the Education Committee continues to seek out energetic, detail-oriented individuals to help create, coordinate and/or volunteer at events. If interested in joining our team, contact me any time. 

Thank you again for all your support, engagement and desire for growth within the Healthcare Industry. 


Major Angel L. Vargas, MBA, MHA, FACHE
Email:
achehawaiieducation@gmail.com
Cell: (219) 808-7355

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

October 4:  Fall Social Mixer

Please come join us at the HASR Bistro for Networking and some 'ono grinds'!

Date:  Tuesday, October 4
Time:  6:00PM - 8:30PM
Place:  HASR Bistro, main room
RSVP:  Lisa Robles at 808-697-3516; lrobles@wcchc.com

Nov 9-10:  2016 AONE Annual Conference "Leadership In Action.."

This year's conference and partnership with the AONE promises to offer even more valuable educational and networking opportunities!

  • 4.0 Face-to-Face Credits!
  • 7.25 Qualified Education Credits!

Date:  November 9 and November 10, (7:30AM - 4:00PM)
Place:  Royal Hawaiian Hotel.
Info & Registration:   http://www.aonehawaii.org/#!save-the-date/cgqm
Late Registration:  After October 9

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529