Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Fall 2016 Issue
In This Issue
Message from your ACHE Regent, Fall 2016
Message from the Chapter President, Fall 2016
Original Articles by ACHE Members
Physician Partnerships in the Age of Healthcare Transformation
Collaborative Partnerships - ACHE, AONE, and HSCN
Chapter Events
Leadership in Action - Partnering for Success: The 2016 AONE Hawai'i Conference
Calendars
Calendar of Events for Fall 2016
Education Calendar for Fall 2016
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Membership: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
News from the Guam Program Council
Fall 2016 Financial Report
ACHE National News - Fall 2016
Career and Leadership
Career Corner
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Collaborative Partnerships
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
CHAPTER OFFICERS
 

REGENT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
jen.chahanovich@palimomi.org


PRESIDENT
Art Gladstone, FACHE
art.gladstone@straub.net

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Nick Hughey, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
Chuck Tanner, FACHE
chuck.tanner88@gmail.com

TREASURER
Selma Yamamoto
syamamoto@queens.org 


SECRETARY
Nancy Wilson
nancy.wilson@palimomi.org

DIRECTORS
Micah Ewing
micah.ewing@kapiolani.org

Maj Charlotte Hildebrand, FACHE
clhildebrand@hotmail.com

Suzie So-Miyahira
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

Stefan Fedusiv
ideasovercoffee@gmail.com

Tamara Pappas
tpappas@Queens.Org

Bobbie Ornellas, FACHE
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Emiline Buhler
emiline.buhler@kapiolani.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

 

Message from your ACHE Regent, Fall 2016
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE

Aloha Chapter Members–

I wanted to thank all the members and guests that attended our annual breakfast on July 27th.  Our guest speaker was George Greene, President & CEO of the Healthcare Association of Hawai‘i.  George gave an excellent overview of the 2016 State Legislative Session and ended with trends, challenges and opportunities that we face going forward.


George Greene, President, CEO HAH at the 2016 Breakfast

If you were unable to attend the breakfast and would like a copy of George’s presentation - let me know and I can forward you a copy.  Additional resources for Health Reform Topics can be found on the ACHE website – a few of the topics are listed below:

  • Delivering Accountable Care
  • Coping with Financial Challenges of Lowered Reimbursement
  • Meeting Clinical Staffing Demands
  • Building Medical Staff Relationships
  • Improving Quality and Patient Centered Care
  • Increasing Access to Care in Your Community
  • You can find these links and more at ACHE.org

Finally at our annual breakfast - two of our chapter members received the Regent Healthcare Executive Award.  The criteria for the Regent award are:

  • A member of the ACHE
  • Demonstration of leadership ability
  • Demonstration of innovation and creative management
  • Executive capability in developing his or her organization and promoting its growth and stature in the community
  • Participation in local, state, or provincial hospital and health association activities
  • Participate in civic/community activities and projects
  • Demonstration of participation in ACHE activities and interest in assisting ACHE in achieving its objectives

Both of our awardees exceeded the criteria - congratulations to Kathy Raethal, FACHE from Castle Medical Center and to Selma Yamamoto from the Queen’s Health Systems for their outstanding commitment to the health care profession.



Selma Yamamoto (Left) receives her Regent Award, Jen Chahanovich (Right)

Thank you again for supporting our local Chapter.  I am available for questions about the chapter or ACHE – please feel free to contact me on my cell or e-mail.

Jen H. Chahanovich, FACHE
President & CEO
Wilcox Medical Center
Office:  808-245-1122
Cell:      808-524-6644
Jen.chahanovich@wilcoxhealth.org

Next Article
Save the Date

October 4:  Fall Social Mixer

Please come join us at the HASR Bistro for Networking and some 'ono grinds'!

Date:  Tuesday, October 4
Time:  6:00PM - 8:30PM
Place:  HASR Bistro, main room
RSVP:  Lisa Robles at 808-697-3516; lrobles@wcchc.com

Nov 9-10:  2016 AONE Annual Conference "Leadership In Action.."

This year's conference and partnership with the AONE promises to offer even more valuable educational and networking opportunities!

  • 4.0 Face-to-Face Credits!
  • 7.25 Qualified Education Credits!

Date:  November 9 and November 10, (7:30AM - 4:00PM)
Place:  Royal Hawaiian Hotel.
Info & Registration:   http://www.aonehawaii.org/#!save-the-date/cgqm
Late Registration:  After October 9

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529