Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE December 2016
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from your ACHE Regent, Winter 2016
Message from the Chapter President, Winter 2016
Message from Incoming President
Recent Events
2016 Hawai'i Healthcare Leadership Conference
Original Articles by ACHE Members
Overcoming Skepticism about Integrative Medicine in Health Care
Calendars
Calendar of Events for Winter 2016-17
Calendar of Educational Events for Winter 2016-2017
News & Committee Updates
2017 Board Election Results
News from the Education Committee
Membership: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
News from the Guam Program Council
Winter 2016 Financial Report
ACHE National News - Winter 2016
Opportunity for Diversity Learning
Career and Leadership
Career Corner
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
CHAPTER OFFICERS
 

REGENT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
jen.chahanovich@palimomi.org


PRESIDENT
Art Gladstone, FACHE
art.gladstone@straub.net

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Nick Hughey, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL PROGRAM COUNCIL
Chuck Tanner, FACHE
chuck.tanner88@gmail.com

TREASURER
Selma Yamamoto
syamamoto@queens.org 


SECRETARY
Nancy Wilson
nancy.wilson@palimomi.org

DIRECTORS
Micah Ewing
micah.ewing@kapiolani.org


Maj Charlotte Hildebrand, FACHE
clhildebrand@hotmail.com

Suzie So-Miyahira
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

Stefan Fedusiv
ideasovercoffee@gmail.com

Tamara Pappas
tpappas@Queens.Org

Bobbie Ornellas, FACHE
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Emiline Buhler
emiline.buhler@kapiolani.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

 

News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Maj Angel Vargas, FACHE

Aloha Team Hawai’i Pacific.

First and foremost, Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to you, your family and your patients.  Thank you for making 2016 a successful year via your rock-solid participation of our numerous events and exceptional education opportunities. What a year! 

From our partnership with Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA) or the American College of Nursing Executives, our chapter elevated our community engagement through strong partnership and proven leadership. 2017 will be no different.   There are numerous networking and continuing education opportunities are in the works.

Here some updates:

First, it was an honor to serve as Education Committee Chair for the Chapter.  Learned a lot through the process and made some great friends; thank you all.   With that said, I would like to introduce your new Education Committee Chair: Mr. Josh Carpenter.  Josh is a great leader and key partner to our chapter and healthcare industry.  We wish him the best.

Our 9-10 November ACHE/AONE Leadership in Action Conference was a huge success.  We exceeded our internal attendance goal by more than 12% with numerous people interested in joining our Chapter. There were 4.0 Face-to-Face (F2F) Education Credits and 7.25 Qualified Education Credits (QECs) available. F2F credits will be posted to your ACHE profiles within 2-3 weeks. You can update your QECs directly at ache.org by logging into your profile and selecting “ACHE Qualified Education Credit” to reach the submission page.  Once completed, your QECs will immediately appear.

As a reminder, for recertification, Fellows are required to have 12 Face-to-Face and 36 Qualified Education Credits every three years OR retake the BOG Exam, participate in two (2) healthcare activities and participate two (2) community/civic activities. For full details, please visit here: https://www.ache.org/apps/recertification.cfm

Flashback from Last Quarter: we have secured three ACHE Board of Governors Exam (BOG) Study Sets available for checkout (a $240 value). There are staged at three locations: two on Oahu and one on Kauai. To sign-out for usage, you simply have to be a current member of ACHE, an active member in our Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter, and be eligible (or near eligible) to test for the BOG Exam. If qualified, please send an email  to achehawaiieducation@gmail.com.
If interested in organizing or being a part of a BOG exam study group here on island, please let us know.

Next, below are some direct ACHE links to make your advancement to fellow a whole lot easier:

As always, the Education Committee seeks energetic, detail-oriented individuals to help create, coordinate and/or volunteer at events. If interested in joining our team, contact us at any time.  Thank you again for the great year, see you in 2017!

Major Angel L. Vargas, MBA, MHA, FACHE
Email:
achehawaiieducation@gmail.com
Cell: (219) 808-7355

 

 


Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

 2017 Congress (click link below for details):

Congress on Healthcare Leadership 2017

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529