Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2018
Vol. 1
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Chapter President
Article of Interest
Starting your Journey to be a High Reliability Organization by Stopping
Calendars and Recent Events
ACHE Spring Social Event
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Committee
Updates for Students
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
Which topics would you like to read more about in 2018?
Healthcare Reform
Professional Development
Technology in Medicine
Original Research
Policy Briefs
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

REGENT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
jen.chahanovich@wilcoxhealth.org

PRESIDENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE 
nhughey@wcchc.com


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Chuck Tanner, FACHE
chuck.tanner88@gmail.com


TREASURER
Suzie So-Miyahira
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

SECRETARY
Emiline LaWall, MA
emiline.lawall@hawaiipacifichealth.org


PRESIDENT-ELECT
Kecia Kelly, FACHE
kecia.m.kelly@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Josh Carpenter | Education
Josh.Carpenter@trane.com

Sally Belles | Communications
sally.belles@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Bobbie Ornellas, FACHE | Diversity
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com 

Kecia Kelly | Membership, Nominating
kecia.m.kelly@kp.org

Nick Hughey, FACHE | Sponsorship
nhughey@wcchc.com

Miguel Guevara | Audit
miguel.guevara@us.af.mil


DIRECTORS

Travis Clegg
cleggtl@ah.org 

Andrew Giles
andrew.t.giles@kp.org

Nancy Hanna
nancy.hanna@palimomi.org

Laura Bonilla
laurab@kapiolani.org

Ryan Sutherland
ryansuth55@gmail.com

Delma Guevara
delma.guevara@hawaiihealthpartners.org

STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

Denise Della
ddella@wcchc.com



Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Chapter President

Aloha Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter Members!
 
Our Board of Leadership had a board orientation and planning session in January. While this orientation was well-attended, I am happy to report to you that our board this year is energetic, robust, and excited about continuing to improve the services and offerings to our chapter membership.  
 
Here are some of the key targeted goals we have in store for the chapter this year as well as some of our plans to meet these goals:
 
1.  Membership: Along with development of an increasingly diverse membership and board this year, our goal is to continue to engage our new and existing members--making sure we are meeting our members' needs. We already have 2 membership-specific events under our belt this year with our New Member breakfast (Feb. 16) and our Spring Social Mixer (March 7). We have received valuable feedback from new members as well as interest in getting involved with the board and our events.  
 
2.  Education: Increase Face-to-Face credit opportunities for our members' credentialing and re-certification needs. The avoidance of costly travel for members to get the educational credits they need is something we have taken seriously this year. As a result, we are planning a 2-day educational conference that will provide up to 12 face-to-face credit hours.  
 
3.  Sponsorship: To assist in funding our quality education and networking events, we seek to establish appropriate and mutually beneficial partnerships that not only provide meaningful benefit to our members, but also provide appropriate recognition and exposure for our sponsors at our chapter events. This process began in January and is in progress.  
 
4.  Distance Learning: Provide cost-effective educational opportunities that not only benefit Hawai'i members, but also our chapter members in Guam and various other islands in the Pacific.  
 
Regarding Distance Learning (#4), I am excited to announce that ACHE this year has enacted a program that allows Chapters with 'geographic challenges' to enhance membership and engagements by offering up to 3.0 hours of Face-to-Face education credit via live streaming video. In addition, there have also been improvements to the credit approval process in general and we look forward to taking advantage of this opportunity to provide these credit opportunities to our remote members.  
 
The 2018 Congress on Healthcare Leadership is approaching on March 26. If you are attending Congress this year, please do join us for the dinner we are hosting on Monday, March 26, 6:30PM at Quartino Ristorante. Please check your e-mail for the RSVP invite and details.
 
It is an honor and privilege to serve as your President and I look forward to a great year.  
  
Mahalo,
 
Micah
 

 
Micah B. Ewing, MBA, FACHE
President, Hawai‘i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE
Hawai'i Pacific Health
 Office: (808) 535-7063   
 Fax:    (808) 697-3687
 micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org
  
Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

 

HFMA Hawaii Annual Conference | April 19-20, 2018 | Ala Moana Hotel

Register Today! 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529