Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2018
Vol. 1
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Chapter President
Article of Interest
Starting your Journey to be a High Reliability Organization by Stopping
Calendars and Recent Events
ACHE Spring Social Event
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Committee
Updates for Students
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
Which topics would you like to read more about in 2018?
Healthcare Reform
Professional Development
Technology in Medicine
Original Research
Policy Briefs
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

REGENT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
jen.chahanovich@wilcoxhealth.org

PRESIDENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE 
nhughey@wcchc.com


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Chuck Tanner, FACHE
chuck.tanner88@gmail.com


TREASURER
Suzie So-Miyahira
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

SECRETARY
Emiline LaWall, MA
emiline.lawall@hawaiipacifichealth.org


PRESIDENT-ELECT
Kecia Kelly, FACHE
kecia.m.kelly@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Josh Carpenter | Education
Josh.Carpenter@trane.com

Sally Belles | Communications
sally.belles@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Bobbie Ornellas, FACHE | Diversity
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com 

Kecia Kelly | Membership, Nominating
kecia.m.kelly@kp.org

Nick Hughey, FACHE | Sponsorship
nhughey@wcchc.com

Miguel Guevara | Audit
miguel.guevara@us.af.mil


DIRECTORS

Travis Clegg
cleggtl@ah.org 

Andrew Giles
andrew.t.giles@kp.org

Nancy Hanna
nancy.hanna@palimomi.org

Laura Bonilla
laurab@kapiolani.org

Ryan Sutherland
ryansuth55@gmail.com

Delma Guevara
delma.guevara@hawaiihealthpartners.org

STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

Denise Della
ddella@wcchc.com



News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Charlene Ruben, Education Committee Co-Chair

Aloha Hawai’i-Pacific Chapter!

ACHE's 2018 Congress on Healthcare Leadership provides the opportunity for chapter members to get involved and inspired.  We hope you take advantage of attending congress events especially the annual chapter dinner at Quartino Ristorante. Congress will be held at the Hyatt Regency Chicago 26-29 March 2018. A minimum of 12 face-to-face credits are available to members.

Please save the date for the Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA) Conference, which will be held April 19-20, 2018. A total of 3 face-to-face credits will be available, and topics are currently being finalized. Stay tuned for additional information including registration.

ACHE/AONE will be held for a single day this year. Meanwhile, the committee is hard at work planning an On-Location program for fall.

If you have any recommendations for future events, please reach out to one of our education committee co-chairs! Contact information is provided at the bottom of this article.

Advancement to Fellow Local Study Options:

A key part of our Chapter Mission is to not only grow active members, but also to support the advancement to Fellow as well. Bottom line: we are here to support you! 

To meet this end, in 2016, our chapter purchased three sets of the Board of Governors (BOG) Exam Study set as found on the ache.org website (a $240 value). We currently have them staged at Wilcox Medical Center (Kauai), Queens Medical Center (Oahu) and Hawaii Pacific Health (Oahu). Recently, we received a donation set available for us at Kaiser Medical Center! To sign-out for usage, you simply have to be a current member of ACHE, a member in our Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter, and be eligible (or near eligible) to test for the BOG Exam. Simply send me an email and I will connect you with the right POC. Direct POC information will be posted on our website soon! 

NOTE: If any other member wishes to donate or share their books with ACHE Hawai’i-Pacific members, please contact me anytime. 

Advance to Fellow/Recertification Reminders:

Education Requirements are 36 credit hours (12 Face-to-Face & 24 Qualified Education Credits), every three years if recertifying.

Below are some direct ACHE links to make your advancement to fellow a whole lot easier:

As always, the education committee seeks energetic, detail-oriented individuals to help create, coordinate and/or volunteer at events. If interested, let us know!

With regards,

Charlene Rueben, Capt, USAF, MSC
Co-Chair, Education Committee
Email: charlene.rueben@us.af.mil

 

Josh Carpenter
Chair, Education Committee
Email: josh.carpenter@trane.com
Phone: (808) 220-2078

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

 

HFMA Hawaii Annual Conference | April 19-20, 2018 | Ala Moana Hotel

Register Today! 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529