Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2018
Vol. 1
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Chapter President
Article of Interest
Starting your Journey to be a High Reliability Organization by Stopping
Calendars and Recent Events
ACHE Spring Social Event
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Committee
Updates for Students
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
Which topics would you like to read more about in 2018?
Healthcare Reform
Professional Development
Technology in Medicine
Original Research
Policy Briefs
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

REGENT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
jen.chahanovich@wilcoxhealth.org

PRESIDENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE 
nhughey@wcchc.com


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Chuck Tanner, FACHE
chuck.tanner88@gmail.com


TREASURER
Suzie So-Miyahira
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

SECRETARY
Emiline LaWall, MA
emiline.lawall@hawaiipacifichealth.org


PRESIDENT-ELECT
Kecia Kelly, FACHE
kecia.m.kelly@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Josh Carpenter | Education
Josh.Carpenter@trane.com

Sally Belles | Communications
sally.belles@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Bobbie Ornellas, FACHE | Diversity
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com 

Kecia Kelly | Membership, Nominating
kecia.m.kelly@kp.org

Nick Hughey, FACHE | Sponsorship
nhughey@wcchc.com

Miguel Guevara | Audit
miguel.guevara@us.af.mil


DIRECTORS

Travis Clegg
cleggtl@ah.org 

Andrew Giles
andrew.t.giles@kp.org

Nancy Hanna
nancy.hanna@palimomi.org

Laura Bonilla
laurab@kapiolani.org

Ryan Sutherland
ryansuth55@gmail.com

Delma Guevara
delma.guevara@hawaiihealthpartners.org

STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

Denise Della
ddella@wcchc.com



News & Committee Updates
News from the Guam Committee
Chuck Tanner, FACHE

Hafa Adai from Guam!

This year has taken off, and our healthcare community on Guam is faced with many challenges. Most of these challenges of course revolve around funding and adjusting to new Federal policies. This is also an election year so those dynamics are engaging the public as we sort out our future.

As I mentioned in the December Newsletter, I look towards passing the leadership of the Guam Local Program Chapter (LPC) to someone else, as I have applied for Lifetime FACHE status and look forward to retirement. We have recently called for nominations, if you are interested in assuming a leadership role on Guam please voice your interest or nominate a colleague! Nominations were to be submitted by March 15, 2018 and we hope to have the election process completed by the end of March.

I would especially encourage our military members to seek a position in the GLPC. As I have found that our small organization is a great vehicle for the military members to explore the challenges the civil sector has on a small remote island. It is a valuable real world experience for your career and will expose you to what you may face once you decide to hang up the uniform. Who knows, maybe you will stay on Guam!

Last year and for the first couple of months in 2018 we held our bi-weekly “Junto” meetings. I enjoyed these meetings and felt the relaxed atmosphere and laissez-fare agenda generated some great discussion.  Unfortunately the participation fell off after the New Year and the time commitment given competing events lead to the decision to discontinue them. It was a good run though, and maybe in the future someone will re-start them! 

I reiterate from the December Newsletter, that practicing in healthcare administration on a small Pacific island, seemingly far from mainstream is both a great and frustrating experience. You are truly tested to become innovative and work with the team you have. It is important to maintain linkages with other professionals and that is what the GLPC offers with our friends in Hawaii.

 


Chuck and his beloved dog "Puppy" wish everyone a Happy Easter from Guam.

In closing, as this is my last contribution to the newsletter and as the President of the Guam Local Program Chapter, I want to thank the Hawaii Chapter current and past leaders for their support and encouragement for Guam. It is my hope that the next group of Guam leaders will grow and take the GLPC to higher levels and push forward on improving the care we give our community. God bless you and God bless Guam. 

Regards,
Chuck 

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

 

HFMA Hawaii Annual Conference | April 19-20, 2018 | Ala Moana Hotel

Register Today! 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529