Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2018
Vol. 1
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Chapter President
Article of Interest
Starting your Journey to be a High Reliability Organization by Stopping
Calendars and Recent Events
ACHE Spring Social Event
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Committee
Updates for Students
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
Which topics would you like to read more about in 2018?
Healthcare Reform
Professional Development
Technology in Medicine
Original Research
Policy Briefs
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

REGENT
Jen Chahanovich, FACHE
jen.chahanovich@wilcoxhealth.org

PRESIDENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE 
nhughey@wcchc.com


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Chuck Tanner, FACHE
chuck.tanner88@gmail.com


TREASURER
Suzie So-Miyahira
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

SECRETARY
Emiline LaWall, MA
emiline.lawall@hawaiipacifichealth.org


PRESIDENT-ELECT
Kecia Kelly, FACHE
kecia.m.kelly@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Josh Carpenter | Education
Josh.Carpenter@trane.com

Sally Belles | Communications
sally.belles@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Bobbie Ornellas, FACHE | Diversity
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com 

Kecia Kelly | Membership, Nominating
kecia.m.kelly@kp.org

Nick Hughey, FACHE | Sponsorship
nhughey@wcchc.com

Miguel Guevara | Audit
miguel.guevara@us.af.mil


DIRECTORS

Travis Clegg
cleggtl@ah.org 

Andrew Giles
andrew.t.giles@kp.org

Nancy Hanna
nancy.hanna@palimomi.org

Laura Bonilla
laurab@kapiolani.org

Ryan Sutherland
ryansuth55@gmail.com

Delma Guevara
delma.guevara@hawaiihealthpartners.org

STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

Denise Della
ddella@wcchc.com



News & Committee Updates
Updates for Students
Denise Della, MPH MHA

ACHE Student Corner

ACHE SCHOLARSHIPS (Deadline March 31, 2018)

As part of your ACHE student membership, you have the opportunity to apply for two scholarships that provide financial aid to help offset tuition costs, student loans and expenses.

Albert W. Dent Graduate Student Scholarships (for minority students only)

This scholarship was established in honor of Albert W. Dent, the first African-American Fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives.

Foster G. McGaw Graduate Student Scholarships

This scholarship was established in honor of Foster G. McGaw, the founder of the American Hospital Supply Corporation.

 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

  • Applicant is not required to be a Student Associate* of ACHE. However, during the selection process, preference is given to applicants who are Student Associates of ACHE.

  • Applicant must be enrolled in his or her final year (fall/spring) of full-time study in a healthcare management graduate program** and have a graduation date between Sept. 1, 2018 and Aug. 31, 2019. If you have a residency as part of your program and the upcoming fall term will be your second year of study, you may apply for a scholarship.

  • Applicant must demonstrate financial need.

  • Applicant must be a U.S. or Canadian citizen.

  • Applicant cannot be a previous recipient of either scholarship.

HOW TO APPLY

  • Visit ache.org/Scholarships or click here to apply now. Be sure to include the following with your application:

  1. Current resume or curriculum vitae
  2. Official undergraduate and graduate transcripts
  3. Three current letters of recommendation (one must be from your graduate program director)
  4. Application essay

Deadline is March 31, 2018.

 

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

 

HFMA Hawaii Annual Conference | April 19-20, 2018 | Ala Moana Hotel

Register Today! 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529