Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Summer 2018 Vol. 2
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Diversity
Diversity within ACHE
Articles of Interest
Essential Leaders Skills: Critical Thinking
Drug Pricing: Transparency, Affordability and Access...Who will lead the charge?
Calendars and Recent Events
2018 Congress on Healthcare Leadership
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Committee
Updates for Students
Postgraduate Fellowship Spotlight: Kaiser Permanente
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a leader in healthcare, what issue concerns you the most?
Physician burnout
Value-Based Care and Payment Transformation
Rising costs of prescription drugs
Opioid epidemic
Access to behavioral and mental health services
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

PRESIDENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE 
nhughey@wcchc.com


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Chuck Tanner, FACHE
chuck.tanner88@gmail.com


TREASURER
Suzie So-Miyahira
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

SECRETARY
Emiline LaWall, MA
emiline.lawall@hawaiipacifichealth.org


PRESIDENT-ELECT
Kecia Kelly, FACHE
kecia.m.kelly@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Josh Carpenter | Education
Josh.Carpenter@trane.com

Sally Belles | Communications
sally.belles@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Bobbie Ornellas, FACHE | Diversity
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com 

Kecia Kelly | Membership, Nominating
kecia.m.kelly@kp.org

Nick Hughey, FACHE | Sponsorship
nhughey@wcchc.com

Miguel Guevara | Audit
miguel.guevara@us.af.mil


DIRECTORS

Travis Clegg
cleggtl@ah.org 

Andrew Giles
andrew.t.giles@kp.org

Nancy Hanna
nancy.hanna@palimomi.org

Laura Bonilla
laurab@kapiolani.org

Ryan Sutherland
ryansuth55@gmail.com

Delma Guevara
delma.guevara@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Angel Vargas
angel.l.vargas2.mil@mail.mil

STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

Denise Della
ddella@wcchc.com



Diversity
Diversity within ACHE
Delma Guevara, MBA, MHRM, PHR
Over the last several decades we have seen a shift in demographics across the United States population, and understand that the shift in landscape can have an impact in the community we serve. Our local chapter’s Statement on Diversity and Inclusion calls us to value and actively promote diversity in our chapter leadership and membership because, “diverse participation serves as a catalyst for improved decision making, increased productivity, and competitive advantage.” With that in mind, it is important that as a chapter we evaluate how we compare to the ACHE National demographics, and take this opportunity to focus our efforts to promote diversity while keeping in mind the composition of the community we serve. Below is a side by side comparison of the Hawai‘i Pacific Chapter and the ACHE National demographics for age, race and membership category.
 
 
   
 

 
 
 
In addition to the age, race and membership categories our chapter has also studied how our membership compares to the ACHE National membership data in several other categories such as organization category, position type, and membership tenure. In the category of membership tenure the Hawai‘i Pacific chapter has 4% more than the national average for members with less than 5 years of membership, and fall 8% below the national average on representation of member with over 15 years of ACHE membership.  
 
Our membership position type is comparable to the national membership. Fourteen percent of both the Hawai‘i Pacific Chapter and the ACHE National membership hold a CEO or equivalent position, and 5% hold a COO or equivalent position. Our VP representation is under the national numbers by 5% but our Department Heads and Directors representation is 6% better than the national.
 
As we continue to look for ways to strengthen our chapter and work towards attaining our goals, we will continue to look for opportunities to strengthen diversity and inclusion, and we ask our membership to do the same. 
Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

 

 


 

 

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529