Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Summer 2018 Vol. 2
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Diversity
Diversity within ACHE
Articles of Interest
Essential Leaders Skills: Critical Thinking
Drug Pricing: Transparency, Affordability and Access...Who will lead the charge?
Calendars and Recent Events
2018 Congress on Healthcare Leadership
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Committee
Updates for Students
Postgraduate Fellowship Spotlight: Kaiser Permanente
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Many thanks to our Sponsors!
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a leader in healthcare, what issue concerns you the most?
Physician burnout
Value-Based Care and Payment Transformation
Rising costs of prescription drugs
Opioid epidemic
Access to behavioral and mental health services
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

PRESIDENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE 
nhughey@wcchc.com


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Chuck Tanner, FACHE
chuck.tanner88@gmail.com


TREASURER
Suzie So-Miyahira
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

SECRETARY
Emiline LaWall, MA
emiline.lawall@hawaiipacifichealth.org


PRESIDENT-ELECT
Kecia Kelly, FACHE
kecia.m.kelly@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Josh Carpenter | Education
Josh.Carpenter@trane.com

Sally Belles | Communications
sally.belles@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Bobbie Ornellas, FACHE | Diversity
bornellas001@hawaii.rr.com 

Kecia Kelly | Membership, Nominating
kecia.m.kelly@kp.org

Nick Hughey, FACHE | Sponsorship
nhughey@wcchc.com

Miguel Guevara | Audit
miguel.guevara@us.af.mil


DIRECTORS

Travis Clegg
cleggtl@ah.org 

Andrew Giles
andrew.t.giles@kp.org

Nancy Hanna
nancy.hanna@palimomi.org

Laura Bonilla
laurab@kapiolani.org

Ryan Sutherland
ryansuth55@gmail.com

Delma Guevara
delma.guevara@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Angel Vargas
angel.l.vargas2.mil@mail.mil

STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

Denise Della
ddella@wcchc.com



Calendars and Recent Events
2018 Congress on Healthcare Leadership

 

Team Hawai’i,

ACHE Congress is the most significant networking and educational experience made available to healthcare administrators! 2018’s was no different. From a networking perspective, ACHE is highly touted with the highest membership of all administrator centric professional organizations. At Congress our education sessions covered the entire continuum of care, from front line enhancements to strategic development ideas, the speakers at this year’s gathering continue to amaze. In fact, there were several topics that can no doubt aide Hawaii’s healthcare leaders. Specifically, sessions on leveraging technology, post-acute care services and access improvement strategies in lieu of healthcare reform changes.  


The 2018 Congress on Healthcare Leadership - Chapter Awards Banquet

Hawaii is unique, but not immune to the changes in law or care delivery on the mainland. On top of the educational opportunities, ACHE Congress reminds us of the high prestige and value of our ACHE board certification. With very stringent acceptance requirements, the FACHE credential was on full display this Congress with a substantial amount of mid-level and senior-level members out and about.  
 
So what does this mean for the local Hawaii chapter? It means, get involved. It means, show up to the social events. It means, show up for the educational events. Build your networking and educational depth locally, so when you attend Congress in 2019 and beyond, you will be more prepared and ready to a) represent Hawaii’s healthcare executive group and b) meet exceptional leaders from the mainland to pull ideas from!  Education and continuous learning is the foundation for achieving great success, but networking opens up your options for even more success. Be sure to focus on both, get to a Congress and build/market your brand!  
 
In closing, thank you for what you do. With over 12 years’ experience as a healthcare administrator, I have never been more proud to be a member of ACHE. I have attended at least six Congresses over my career and learn something each and every time. If your goal is continuous growth and development, attending an ACHE Congress is a good way to help make that a reality!  
 
Thank you for what you do and may you have continued success in the future! 
 
ANGEL L. VARGAS, Major, USAF, MSC, FACHE
Board of Director, Hawai’i Pacific Chapter of ACHE
Administrator, 15th Medical Group
 
Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

 

 


 

 

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529