Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2019 Vol. 1
In This Issue
Message from the Chapter President
Article of Interest
Asia Pacific Military Health Exchange - 2018 Highlights
Member Spotlight
Meet our new Military Representative
Calendars and Recent Events
A Foodie's Report on ACHE 2019 Congress
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Local Program Chapter
Student Corner
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare executive, which non-profit organization are you most interested in engaging with and hearing from?
Aloha Harvest
Aloha United Way
ALS Foundation
American Diabetes Association of Hawaii
American Heart Association
Boys and Girls Club of Hawaii
Easter Seals
Habitat for Humanity
Hawaii Food Bank
Hawaii Humane Society
Institute for Human Services
Make A Wish Foundation
March of Dimes
Plastic Free Hawaii
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

PRESIDENT
Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE
dchadwick@queens.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Andrew Giles, MBA
andrew.t.giles@kp.org


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE 
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu
wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Suzie So-Miyahira, MPH, MBA
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

SECRETARY
Emiline LaWall, MA
emiline.lawall@hawaiipacifichealth.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com


PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Col Kara Gormont, BSN, HSMP-MHA, FACHE
gormont1@yahoo.com

DIRECTORS

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA
travis.clegg@ah.org 

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Sally Belles, MBA-HCM, RDN, CDE | Communications
sally.belles@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Jerome Flores | Education
JeromeF@maunalani.org

Andrew Giles, MBA | Membership
Andrew.T.Giles@kp.org

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Nominating
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil 

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

Article of Interest
Asia Pacific Military Health Exchange - 2018 Highlights
Kelly Wheeler, Army Regional Health Command-Pacific, Lean Six Sigma Master Black Belt

Since 1947, the United States Army Indo-Pacific Command and its assigned military forces serve to protect the United States (US), its people, and interests in the Indo-Pacific region. To do this, the organization works together with other US government agencies as well as US allies and partners not only for defense, but also to improve stability in the region through mutual security cooperation and contingency response, among other things.  
 
The Indo-Pacific region represents half of the world’s population and more than half of the global economy. It also has the world’s most populous democracy and the largest Muslim-majority state (Indonesia).  In countries throughout the Indo-Pacific region we also find countries that are ranked lowest by the World Health Organization for healthcare systems (Myanmar) as well as countries which present health security risks such as dengue or tuberculosis. Indo-Pacific countries also are along the “ring” of fire presenting risk of natural disaster that can contribute to increased health security risks.
 
Each year, leaders and members of the military medical community come together to share lessons learned and to discuss areas of opportunity to partner at the Asia Pacific Military Health Exchange (APMHE).  Now in its 4th iteration, the APMHE was held from 17-21 September in Xian, China.  The event was co-hosted by the United States Indo-Pacific Command Surgeon with the People’s Liberation Army of China Director, Directorate of Medical Services, Logistics Support Department and the Central Military Commission. 
 
The APMHE focuses on the entire military health team. The theme for 2018 was “Challenges and Solutions: Strengthening Global Health.”  Various tracks included support operations for major missions, rising challenges in military medicine, total force health, performance optimization in medical services, preventive medicine, and service component exchanges. Throughout the course of the event over 600 medical professionals from 30 nations and international organizations participated in more than 200 presentations on regionally-focused health issues ranging from humanitarian assistance and disaster relief (HA/DR) to gender equality. Army Regional Health Command Pacific team members presented posters and presentations ranging from global health engagements to legal challenges related to informed consent. Hawaii Pacific ACHE member presentations were provided by Col Kara Gormont, the 15th Medical Group Commander and Ms. Kelly Wheeler, Process Improvement Specialist, Army Regional Health Command-Pacific.   
 
As healthcare administrators, we learn from colleagues that are near to us.  We can approach our work through different lenses when we seek to share our knowledge and expertise and seek to learn from allies and partner in the region to be able to better prepare and respond to the challenges and risks that we all face together.
 
 
 
Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

SAVE THE DATE!

 

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529