Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2019 Vol. 1
In This Issue
Message from the Chapter President
Article of Interest
Asia Pacific Military Health Exchange - 2018 Highlights
Member Spotlight
Meet our new Military Representative
Calendars and Recent Events
A Foodie's Report on ACHE 2019 Congress
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Local Program Chapter
Student Corner
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare executive, which non-profit organization are you most interested in engaging with and hearing from?
Aloha Harvest
Aloha United Way
ALS Foundation
American Diabetes Association of Hawaii
American Heart Association
Boys and Girls Club of Hawaii
Easter Seals
Habitat for Humanity
Hawaii Food Bank
Hawaii Humane Society
Institute for Human Services
Make A Wish Foundation
March of Dimes
Plastic Free Hawaii
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

PRESIDENT
Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE
dchadwick@queens.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Andrew Giles, MBA
andrew.t.giles@kp.org


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE 
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu
wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Suzie So-Miyahira, MPH, MBA
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

SECRETARY
Emiline LaWall, MA
emiline.lawall@hawaiipacifichealth.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com


PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Col Kara Gormont, BSN, HSMP-MHA, FACHE
gormont1@yahoo.com

DIRECTORS

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA
travis.clegg@ah.org 

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Sally Belles, MBA-HCM, RDN, CDE | Communications
sally.belles@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Jerome Flores | Education
JeromeF@maunalani.org

Andrew Giles, MBA | Membership
Andrew.T.Giles@kp.org

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Nominating
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil 

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

ACHE Resources
Career Corner

Tools and Resources for Women Executives


ACHE is committed to advancing diversity in the healthcare industry. We invite you to explore ACHE resources available to support the unique career development needs of women.  Take advantage of professional networks, studies and publications towards achieving success as a woman executive in healthcare leadership.

Professional Networks to get you started

According to a new study by the Center for Talent Innovation, a non-profit research organization in New York, being perceived as leadership material is essential to being promoted into leadership positions. Toastmasters International, a world leader in communication and leadership development, is one example of a professional network to support the development of your executive presence. Find a Toastmasters Club near you.
 
WHEN and HEG conduct educational programs to serve the professional development needs of healthcare executives, as well as sponsor social functions to provide networking opportunities.

Recommended Resource

Back in 2014 the American Society for Healthcare Human Resources Administration (ASHHRA held its tenth Thought Leader Forum, in San Diego, California in collaboration with the American Hospital Association (AHA), and TIAA-CREF. ASHHRA Thought Leader Forums provide a means for ASHHRA to gather information, insights and best practices regarding vital health care issues and trends and help its members successfully lead their organizations into the future. This summary is a strategic overview of the discussions, thoughts and insights emanating from this Thought Leader Forum.
 
Book Resources Tailored for Women

Take Charge of Your Healthcare Management Career: 50 Lessons That Drive Success

Written in a conversational, friendly style, the 50 lessons highlighted in this book broadly cover three major areas: managing yourself, managing your job, and taking charge of your career.

Work-Life Balance Assessment 

A self-assessment that measures an individual's approach for managing the boundaries between work and family.

Building an Authentic Leadership Image 

A guidebook published by the Center for Creative Leadership, includes a self-assessment of image-related behaviors, developmental exercises and a goal-setting worksheet to assist in this process.

 

Leadership Mentoring Network (LMN)

ACHE created the Leadership Mentoring Network to expand opportunities for learning and development exclusively for ACHE members. Fill out a mentee profile today to indicate your interest in being matched with a successful female healthcare executive.

Get Started

Prospective mentors and mentees must file a personal profile with ACHE's Career Resource Center so that the CRC may identify appropriate matches.

If you wish to become a mentor, please fill out the mentor profile form.
If you wish to become a mentee, please fill out the mentee profile form.

 

 

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

SAVE THE DATE!

 

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529