Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2019 Vol. 1
In This Issue
Message from the Chapter President
Article of Interest
Asia Pacific Military Health Exchange - 2018 Highlights
Member Spotlight
Meet our new Military Representative
Calendars and Recent Events
A Foodie's Report on ACHE 2019 Congress
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Local Program Chapter
Student Corner
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare executive, which non-profit organization are you most interested in engaging with and hearing from?
Aloha Harvest
Aloha United Way
ALS Foundation
American Diabetes Association of Hawaii
American Heart Association
Boys and Girls Club of Hawaii
Easter Seals
Habitat for Humanity
Hawaii Food Bank
Hawaii Humane Society
Institute for Human Services
Make A Wish Foundation
March of Dimes
Plastic Free Hawaii
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

PRESIDENT
Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE
dchadwick@queens.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Andrew Giles, MBA
andrew.t.giles@kp.org


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE 
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu
wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Suzie So-Miyahira, MPH, MBA
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

SECRETARY
Emiline LaWall, MA
emiline.lawall@hawaiipacifichealth.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com


PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Col Kara Gormont, BSN, HSMP-MHA, FACHE
gormont1@yahoo.com

DIRECTORS

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA
travis.clegg@ah.org 

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Sally Belles, MBA-HCM, RDN, CDE | Communications
sally.belles@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Jerome Flores | Education
JeromeF@maunalani.org

Andrew Giles, MBA | Membership
Andrew.T.Giles@kp.org

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Nominating
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil 

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

Member Spotlight
Meet our new Military Representative
Col Kara Gormont, USAF, MSC

Aloha, 

I wanted to introduce myself as a new member of the Hawai'i ACHE Board of Directors. I am honored to have been selected to join this amazing team of healthcare leaders who are committed to improving healthcare on our island home. As the military representative to the board, I welcome an opportunity to reach across the Services to determine how I can represent the unique needs that we have as healthcare leaders. 

As transient healthcare leaders on a remote island in the Pacific, it is imperative that we strive to collaborate and build relationships quickly not just across our specific Services but also into our community. Our island’s healthcare resources are a network of supportive services that our beneficiaries rely on to care for themselves and their family members while living in Hawaii. 

It is our role as healthcare leaders to establish synergy and collaborative efforts across the healthcare community so when needed, these resources are readily available to our patients. I look forward to networking with you all over the upcoming year and discussing innovative solutions to our complex problems with the goal to improve the overall healthcare experience of our shared patients. We are fortunate to be here in Hawaii, and part of an ACHE Chapter which has an interactive and engaged group of healthcare leaders who share our responsibility of caring for our nation’s heroes and their families. 

Please do not hesitate to reach out to me if you have ideas on how I can improve the outreach to the military healthcare administrators, better serve our leadership development, or improve the care of our patients. I look forward to serving in this capacity and am honored by your selection to represent you all. 

Mahalo!

Col Gormont 

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

SAVE THE DATE!

 

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529