Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2019 Vol. 1
In This Issue
Message from the Chapter President
Article of Interest
Asia Pacific Military Health Exchange - 2018 Highlights
Member Spotlight
Meet our new Military Representative
Calendars and Recent Events
A Foodie's Report on ACHE 2019 Congress
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Local Program Chapter
Student Corner
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare executive, which non-profit organization are you most interested in engaging with and hearing from?
Aloha Harvest
Aloha United Way
ALS Foundation
American Diabetes Association of Hawaii
American Heart Association
Boys and Girls Club of Hawaii
Easter Seals
Habitat for Humanity
Hawaii Food Bank
Hawaii Humane Society
Institute for Human Services
Make A Wish Foundation
March of Dimes
Plastic Free Hawaii
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

PRESIDENT
Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE
dchadwick@queens.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Andrew Giles, MBA
andrew.t.giles@kp.org


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE 
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu
wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Suzie So-Miyahira, MPH, MBA
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

SECRETARY
Emiline LaWall, MA
emiline.lawall@hawaiipacifichealth.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com


PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Col Kara Gormont, BSN, HSMP-MHA, FACHE
gormont1@yahoo.com

DIRECTORS

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA
travis.clegg@ah.org 

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Sally Belles, MBA-HCM, RDN, CDE | Communications
sally.belles@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Jerome Flores | Education
JeromeF@maunalani.org

Andrew Giles, MBA | Membership
Andrew.T.Giles@kp.org

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Nominating
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil 

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

Calendars and Recent Events
A Foodie's Report on ACHE 2019 Congress
Col Kara Gormont, USAF, MSC
Many of you might ask yourself why in the world would I leave beautiful Hawaii in March to attend ACHE’s annual Congress in frigid Chicago? That can be summed up in one word…FOOD! When the weather is so cold, what could be better than indulging in some of the wonderful restaurants Chicago has to offer? This year’s hotel was within close proximity to a wonderful Prixe Fix Spanish Tapas restaurant called Mercat a La Planxa. A variety of small plate delicacies was followed at the end of the already filling meal with a huge plate of paella loaded with pork, beef, and seafood. 
 
Mercat a La Planxa: Chef Diego’s Paella Parellada with shrimp, clams, calamari, spanish sausage, heritage chicken
 
Another amazing option is Duck, Duck, Goat. In their words they serve “reasonably authentic Chinese food.” I would say they do way better than that! Here we experienced the most amazing desert. This was a delicate crepe wrapped a small bit of vanilla ice cream with delectable fried outer layer and drizzled with hoisin sauce and sprinkled with cilantro. The mix of sweet and savory was indescribably perfect. 
 
Duck Duck Goat: (This food was so good we barely got pictures) Steam Soup Buns
 
After a visit to the Art Institute of Chicago a quick walk across the street takes you to The Gage where you can enjoy their “too large to put your mouth around” Bison burger. Before our seeing the Broadway play Hamilton, we chose a quick dinner at Nando's Peri-Peri Chicken, a chain restaurant that began its roots in Johannesburg, South Africa. They serve delicious, fast, food infused with the peri-peri pepper at every turn. Nando’s was so fast we had time for a quick desert so ran next door to The Goddess and the Baker
 
Goddess and the Baker: Carrot Cake with Rainbow cake in the background
 
You can see that there is no shortage for amazing food or cultural events while attending Congress. The week is so full of networking opportunities both during and after the formal courses, that a plan for the week prior to getting there is important. 
 
Goddess and the Baker: Cookies
 
If you are a planner, and a foodie, I have one more suggestion. Do your research early and make a reservation at one of the 22 Michelin Star restaurants such as Topolobampo while in the Windy City. The week will go fast and the options feel limitless. So as you are picking your classes next year also spend some time on your extra-curricular planning. Your time networking at Congress does not end with the last class so make sure you schedule some gym time too while you are there and enjoy!
 
Mercat a La Planxa: Flan with pistachio ice cream
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

SAVE THE DATE!

 

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529