Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2019 Vol. 1
In This Issue
Message from the Chapter President
Article of Interest
Asia Pacific Military Health Exchange - 2018 Highlights
Member Spotlight
Meet our new Military Representative
Calendars and Recent Events
A Foodie's Report on ACHE 2019 Congress
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Local Program Chapter
Student Corner
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare executive, which non-profit organization are you most interested in engaging with and hearing from?
Aloha Harvest
Aloha United Way
ALS Foundation
American Diabetes Association of Hawaii
American Heart Association
Boys and Girls Club of Hawaii
Easter Seals
Habitat for Humanity
Hawaii Food Bank
Hawaii Humane Society
Institute for Human Services
Make A Wish Foundation
March of Dimes
Plastic Free Hawaii
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

PRESIDENT
Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE
dchadwick@queens.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Andrew Giles, MBA
andrew.t.giles@kp.org


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE 
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu
wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Suzie So-Miyahira, MPH, MBA
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

SECRETARY
Emiline LaWall, MA
emiline.lawall@hawaiipacifichealth.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com


PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Col Kara Gormont, BSN, HSMP-MHA, FACHE
gormont1@yahoo.com

DIRECTORS

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA
travis.clegg@ah.org 

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Sally Belles, MBA-HCM, RDN, CDE | Communications
sally.belles@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Jerome Flores | Education
JeromeF@maunalani.org

Andrew Giles, MBA | Membership
Andrew.T.Giles@kp.org

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Nominating
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil 

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Kristen Croom, MLS(ASCP), MB(ASCP)
Aloha Hawaii Pacific Chapter!
 
Happy New Year! 2019 is upon us and our chapter remains at the forefront to offer Face-2-Face of Qualified Educational Credits opportunities for you! The 2019 HFMA Hawaii Chapter Annual Conference was held on April 4-5 at the Hawaii Prince Hotel.  The conference was an opportunity for healthcare finance professionals from across the state to learn and network.  
 
The Hawaii Chapter of ACHE provided a 1.5 hour face-to-face session on the topic of sustaining a financially vibrant healthcare organization.  We were privileged to have Lara Yamada Hazenfield moderate the session.  Lara is currently the Physician Communication and Education Manager with the Queen's Clinically Integrated Physician's Network.
 
Our ACHE panel included:  Heidar Thordarson the Chief Financial Officer at Adventist Castle Medical Center, Crystal Busey the Director of Enterprise Risk Management at Queen's Health Systems, Col. Kara Gormont the Commander, 15th Medical Group, Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam; and David Stumbaugh the Vice President of Supply Chain Management/Pharmacy at Hawaii Pacific Health.  The panel did an outstanding job discussing and communicating their organizations approach to handling the complicated world of healthcare finances.  It was a lively discussion with only one interruption by a smoke alarm!
 

Lara Yamada Hazenfield moderates the Hawaii ACHE Speakers Panel at HFMA 
 
The Hawaii Chapter of ACHE would like to extend a heartfelt Mahalo to the HFMA-Hawaii planning committee for including us in their meetings as this event would not be possible without our partnership with HFMA.  We are so very lucky to be partnered with such capable, passionate people and look forward to future HFMA-Hawaii events.  Additionally, we want to thank the Co-Chairs for the Education Committee, Kenny Morris from Stryker and Kristen Croom from Queen’s Medical Center. If you have any recommendations for future events or wish to volunteer on this committee please reach out to one of our team.  Contact Information is provided at the bottom of this article. 
 

With regards,

Jerome Flores
Incoming Chair, Education Committee

jeromeF@maunalani.org  

Kenny Morris
Co-Chair, Education Committee

Kenneth.morris@stryker.com

Kristen Croom
Co-Chair, Education Committee

kcroom80@gmail.com 

Josh Carpenter
Past Chair, Education Committee 

josh.carpenter@trane.com


Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

SAVE THE DATE!

 

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529