Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Summer 2019 Vol. 2
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Articles of Interest
The Magic of Interprofessional Collaboration
Change and Readiness in the Military Health System
ACHE Chapter Awards
2019 Chapter Management Awards
Calendars and Recent Events
Chapter Leaders Reception & Mongolian BBQ at the Historic Hickam Officer's Club
Photo Gallery: Hickam Hospital Circa 1940-1941 & Chapter Leaders Reception at the Historic Hickam Officer's Club
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Local Program Chapter
Student Corner
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare executive, what topic are you most interested in learning about from Plastics Hawaii?
Beach clean ups
Community health impact of plastic
Environmental impact of plastic
Role of healthcare in environmental stewardship
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

PRESIDENT
Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE
dchadwick@queens.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Andrew Giles, MBA
andrew.t.giles@kp.org


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE 
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu
wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Suzie So-Miyahira, MPH, MBA
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

SECRETARY
Emiline LaWall, MA
emiline.lawall@hawaiipacifichealth.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Col Kara Gormont, BSN, HSMP-MHA, FACHE
gormont1@yahoo.com

DIRECTORS

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA
travis.clegg@ah.org 

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Sally Belles, MBA-HCM, RDN, CDE | Communications
sally.belles@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Jerome Flores | Education
JeromeF@maunalani.org

Andrew Giles, MBA | Membership
Andrew.T.Giles@kp.org

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Nominating
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil 

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

News & Committee Updates
Student Corner
Rachelle B. Gallegos, Student Representative
STUDENTS!! 
 
Federal deadline to apply or reapply for FAFSA is June 30th. This is the best time to think about scholarships. As part of your ACHE Student Membership, Student Associates have full advantage to apply for two scholarships. Taking advantage of these scholarship will provide supplemental financial aid that will subsidize tuition costs and expenses. 
 
Applications to these two scholarships are accepted between Jan. 1 and March 31, 2020!
Albert W. Dent Graduate Student Scholarship -This scholarship is available to minority students in healthcare management graduate programs.  You are not required to be a Student Associate of the American College of Healthcare Executives. However, during the selection process, preference is given to applicants who are Student Associates of ACHE.
 
Foster G. McGaw Graduate Student Scholarship- This scholarship is offered to provide financial aid to students in healthcare management graduate programs.
 
Scholarship Details

Offered annually, to students enrolled in their final year of a healthcare management graduate program. Each scholarship is worth $5,000. 
 
 
Eligibility Requirements
  • A minority student enrolled full-time in a healthcare management graduate program - MHA, MPH, MBA in Healthcare Administration or similar
  • Entering your final year (fall/spring) of full-time study
  • Anticipating graduation between Sept. 1, 2020 and Aug. 31, 2021 
  • Demonstrate financial need
  • U.S. or Canadian citizen
  • Not a previous recipient of this scholarship or the Foster G. McGaw Graduate Student Scholarship

How to Apply
 
 
Include the following with your application: 
  • Current resume or curriculum vitae
  • Official undergraduate and graduate transcripts
  • Three current letters of recommendation (one must be from your graduate program director)
  • Application Essay including information on your;
    • Reason for pursuing a career in healthcare management / your career aspirations and goals
    • History in the field
    • Financial need
    • Community/Civic engagement and volunteerism
 
Good luck everyone! I commend you for your commitment and dedication in continuing to grow professionally and achieving your career goals. 
 
 
Mahalo,
 
Rachelle Gallegos
Student Representative 
808-330-8817 (Mobile)
 
 
Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

SAVE THE DATE!

 

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529