Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Fall 2019 Vol. 3
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Member Spotlight
Meet our New Physician Representative
Articles of Interest
Sales Representatives in Healthcare: Partnering to fill a need for Healthcare Organizations
Improved Communication Leads to Higher Patient Outcomes, Lower Readmission Rates
US Medical Students Choosing Primary Care Specialties in an Eight-Year Decline
Diversity
The Hawaii-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Advocates for Diversity and Inclusion
Calendars and Recent Events
Annual Breakfast Highlidghts: A Pictorial
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Local Program Chapter
Student Corner
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare executive, of these priorities which do you consider the most pressing?
Addressing Social Determinants of Health
Healthcare Provider Well-Being
Protection of Patient Privacy and Data
Reducing the Medical Cost Curve
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

PRESIDENT
Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE
dchadwick@queens.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
andrew.t.giles@kp.org


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE 
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu
wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Suzie So-Miyahira, MPH, MBA
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

SECRETARY
Emiline LaWall, MA
emiline.lawall@hawaiipacifichealth.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Col Kara Gormont, BSN, HSMP-MHA, FACHE
gormont1@yahoo.com

DIRECTORS

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA
travis.clegg@ah.org 

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Sally Belles, MBA-HCM, RDN, CDE | Communications
sally.belles@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Maj Jackie Lou E. Kim, USAF | Diversity
jackielou.kim.1@us.af.mil

Jerome Flores | Education
JeromeF@maunalani.org

Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE | Membership
Andrew.T.Giles@kp.org

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Nominating
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil 

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

Articles of Interest
US Medical Students Choosing Primary Care Specialties in an Eight-Year Decline
Despite hospital systems and health officials citing the need for more primary care doctors, graduates of U.S. medical schools are becoming less likely to choose a specialization in this field.

According to the 2019 National Resident Matching Program—the nonprofit group that determines where medical students will study in their chosen specialties after graduation—the percentage of primary care positions filled by fourth-year medical students was the lowest on record. The 2019 report shows that of the 8,116 internal medicine positions offered, only 41.5% were filled. Family medicine and pediatrics reflected a similar trend. In fact, according to an analysis of historical Match data, the percentage of U.S.-trained physicians matched into primary care positions has declined since 2011.

Meanwhile, recent data from the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine shows that medical colleges granting MD degrees graduate nearly three-quarters of U.S. students moving on to become doctors. The rest graduate from osteopathic schools that grant DO degrees. The five medical schools with the highest percentage of graduates choosing primary care are all osteopathic institutions, according to a 2019 U.S. News & World Report survey.

Physicians trained at foreign institutions, including both U.S. and non-U.S. citizens, accept unfilled primary care residency positions as well. In the 2019 match, 68.9% of foreign-trained physicians went into internal medicine, family medicine and pediatrics.

Despite osteopathic graduates and foreign-trained doctors taking up primary care spots, a primary care physician shortage is still expected. In April 2019, the Association of American Medical Colleges predicted a shortage of between 21,100 and 55,200 primary care physicians by 2032.

Why the decline? One reason may be as simple as higher income. According to a recently published Medscape survey of physicians, the annual salaries of internal medicine practitioners average $243,000—a little over half of what orthopedic physicians bring home. Family medicine and pediatrics reportedly earn even less.

Another deterrent to choosing within the primary care field may be the time primary care physicians spend on paperwork and completing electronic medical records. According to the Medscape data, in 2012, 53 percent of physicians completed approximately 1 to 4 hours of administrative tasks per week. The 2019 report shows that the numbers have risen to 74 percent and about 10 hours per week.

Tellingly, only 62% of internal medicine doctors in the survey said they would choose to go into their specialty again; the lowest percentage on record for all physician specialties surveyed.


—Adapted from "American Medical Students Less Likely To Choose To Become Primary Care Doctors," by Victoria Knight, Kaiser Health News, July 3, 2019.





Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

SAVE THE DATE!

 

 

 

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529