Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Winter 2019 Vol. 4
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Articles of Interest
New CMS Requirement for Advanced Imaging Orders: Appropriate Use Criteria (AUC)
Healthcare Sustainability
Learn the Art of Dialogue and Have Open, Productive Conversations
Diversity
Perspectives on Diversity and Inclusion
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Local Program Chapter
Student Corner
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Access Complimentary Resources for the BOG Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
From the results of the previous poll, what is your greatest concern regarding protection of patient privacy or data?
Security/Network breach
Third party patient data sharing
Protection of Patient Privacy and Data
Reducing the Medical Cost Curve
Changing Compliance Requirements
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

PRESIDENT
Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE
dchadwick@queens.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
andrew.t.giles@kp.org


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE 
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu
wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Suzie So-Miyahira, MPH, MBA
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

SECRETARY
Emiline LaWall, MA
emiline.lawall@hawaiipacifichealth.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Col Kara Gormont, BSN, HSMP-MHA, FACHE
gormont1@yahoo.com

DIRECTORS

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA
travis.clegg@ah.org 

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Sally Belles, MBA-HCM, RDN, CDE | Communications
sally.belles@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Maj Jackie Lou E. Kim, USAF | Diversity
jackielou.kim.1@us.af.mil

Jerome Flores | Education
JeromeF@maunalani.org

Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE | Membership
Andrew.T.Giles@kp.org

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Nominating
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil 

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent

 

Winter 2019

Aloha and Happy Holidays ACHE Members! Wishing you a safe and healthy holiday season as we ring in 2020.

This has been a special year, as we organized networking and educational events that warrant national recognition. The Hawai'i Pacific Chapter developed, planned and hosted its first "Leadership Bootcamp." The one-day bootcamp featured numerous opportunities to listen, learn and connect with other members. We hosted over 50 healthcare leaders, assembled from across Hawai'i - quite a feat. Our military services were very well represented, as were our healthcare facilities and systems throughout the Hawaiian Islands. However, the chapter expanded our reach even further by live-streaming to our colleagues in Guam, who actively participated through questions and live dialogue. Despite their clocks running a full 20 hours ahead of our own, our Guam participants joined the event at 4:00 a.m. Saturday morning. This display of commitment was truly AMAZING!!!


I would like to give a special "Thank you" to the speakers and moderators. They displayed inspiring commitment and dedication to lifelong learning, coaching and mentoring our leaders of today and tomorrow. Vice Admiral Raquel Bono, keynote speaker, shared many pearls we can all take back to our teams. I love her slogan: "UNCOMFORTABLE YET?" I hope it resonates with you as healthcare today is exciting, dynamic and changing at a rapid pace, which puts us all in a position to be uncomfortable regardless of our position.


Stay current on what's happening in healthcare by logging in regularly to ache.org. There you can explore tools & resources for taking the Board of Governors Exam or recertifying, read current/pertinent articles, etc...available to you as a leader.

Are you up for the challenge? I think you are!! Again, Happy Holidays!!!

Gidget 

 

Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
Regent for Hawaii/Pacific
COO
Pali Momi Medical Center/Hawaii Pacific Health
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

Next Article
Save the Date

Registration Open

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529