Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Winter 2019 Vol. 4
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Articles of Interest
New CMS Requirement for Advanced Imaging Orders: Appropriate Use Criteria (AUC)
Healthcare Sustainability
Learn the Art of Dialogue and Have Open, Productive Conversations
Diversity
Perspectives on Diversity and Inclusion
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Local Program Chapter
Student Corner
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Access Complimentary Resources for the BOG Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
From the results of the previous poll, what is your greatest concern regarding protection of patient privacy or data?
Security/Network breach
Third party patient data sharing
Protection of Patient Privacy and Data
Reducing the Medical Cost Curve
Changing Compliance Requirements
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

PRESIDENT
Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE
dchadwick@queens.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
andrew.t.giles@kp.org


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE 
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu
wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Suzie So-Miyahira, MPH, MBA
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

SECRETARY
Emiline LaWall, MA
emiline.lawall@hawaiipacifichealth.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Col Kara Gormont, BSN, HSMP-MHA, FACHE
gormont1@yahoo.com

DIRECTORS

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA
travis.clegg@ah.org 

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Sally Belles, MBA-HCM, RDN, CDE | Communications
sally.belles@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Maj Jackie Lou E. Kim, USAF | Diversity
jackielou.kim.1@us.af.mil

Jerome Flores | Education
JeromeF@maunalani.org

Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE | Membership
Andrew.T.Giles@kp.org

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Nominating
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil 

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Chapter President
Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE

Aloha Chapter Members!

2019 continues to be a busy year with events that offer face to face credits and qualified education hours right here in Hawaii.

On October 25th, we held our inaugural Emerging Leaders Boot Camp at Pali Momi Medical Center. Thank you Gidget for hosting this event! We were honored to have Vice Admiral Raquel Bono as our keynote speaker, as well as to have other executive leaders from Hawaii’s healthcare organizations share their insights and leadership skills. The reviews were fantastic, and I would recommend this be an annual educational offering. Thank you for all the hard work and effort it took to plan and organize this successful event! I also was so pleased to see our Guam team in force at this event.
 
On November 14th and 15th, we offered the 2019 Leadership in Action Conference. It was held at the beautiful Kahala Hotel & Resort, in collaboration with the American Organization for Nursing Leadership, Hawaii (AONL), The Hawaii-Pacific Chapter of the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) and the Hawaii State Center for Nursing. This was another well attended event with great speakers.  Some of the highlights included:
 
•    Leveraging EBP to Move Your Organization from Great to Excellent by Lynn Gallagher-Ford
•    Leading Change and Creating a Culture of EBP for Quality Improvement by Linda Quinn Everett
•    Inclusion Healthcare Leadership: Room in the Tent for All by Mary Beth Kingston
•    Becoming a Leader: A personal Story on Humanistic Leader Development by Diane Ball
•    Evolution of Health Care Leadership by Lt. Governor Josh Green   

As we come to the close of 2019, I would like to say thank you for granting me the privilege to serve as your chapter president. I look forward to continuing to support the ACHE Hawai’i-Pacific Chapter as past-president and seeing all the amazing opportunities that we can provide in the future. I wish Andrew Giles, the incoming president, the very best! Andrew has some great ideas to make our chapter even better. 
 
Wishing you all Safe & Happy Holidays.
Respectfully,

Darlena 

Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE
President, Hawai‘i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE
Queen's Health System
Office: (808) 691-4742   
dchadwick@queens.org

 
Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

Registration Open

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529