Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE Winter 2019 Vol. 4
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Articles of Interest
New CMS Requirement for Advanced Imaging Orders: Appropriate Use Criteria (AUC)
Healthcare Sustainability
Learn the Art of Dialogue and Have Open, Productive Conversations
Diversity
Perspectives on Diversity and Inclusion
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Local Program Chapter
Student Corner
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Access Complimentary Resources for the BOG Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
From the results of the previous poll, what is your greatest concern regarding protection of patient privacy or data?
Security/Network breach
Third party patient data sharing
Protection of Patient Privacy and Data
Reducing the Medical Cost Curve
Changing Compliance Requirements
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

PRESIDENT
Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE
dchadwick@queens.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
andrew.t.giles@kp.org


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE 
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu
wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Suzie So-Miyahira, MPH, MBA
suzie.so-miyahira@kapiolani.org

SECRETARY
Emiline LaWall, MA
emiline.lawall@hawaiipacifichealth.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Col Kara Gormont, BSN, HSMP-MHA, FACHE
gormont1@yahoo.com

DIRECTORS

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA
travis.clegg@ah.org 

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Sally Belles, MBA-HCM, RDN, CDE | Communications
sally.belles@hawaiihealthpartners.org

Maj Jackie Lou E. Kim, USAF | Diversity
jackielou.kim.1@us.af.mil

Jerome Flores | Education
JeromeF@maunalani.org

Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE | Membership
Andrew.T.Giles@kp.org

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Nominating
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil 

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Kristen Croom, MLS(ASCP), MB(ASCP)

Inaugural Leadership Bootcamp A Success!

This fall has been a busy season for ACHE Hawaii and Pacific Region.  We had the opportunity to present a great event that was filled with Face to Face credits, Qualified Education credits, and networking. 

The Leadership boot camp was held on October 25th and provided an opportunity for healthcare leaders to come together for a day of networking and educational opportunities.  We had about 60 people attend in person from various healthcare facilities on Oahu as well as 20 people from Guam that attended via video teleconference.   We had an incredible keynote speaker, VADM Raquel Bono, she provided insights into how to be an effective and engaged leader.  Her amazing career and professional accomplishments provided a great story for military and civilian healthcare leaders.  After the keynote we had three face to face panels with military and civilian healthcare leaders.
 

 
The first panel was about mentoring and why it is important for any healthcare professional.  Our three panelists were Tim Pfingsten, Lt. Col. Jennifer Giovanetti and Maj. Nicole Pries with our amazing moderator Brig. Gen. Pietrykowski.  Brig. Gen. Pietrykowski led the panel in a lively conversation about how to choose a good mentor, the importance of choosing someone with a different personality as a mentor, and new ways to mentor using different technologies.  The second panel was about career positioning and strategically mapping your early career development.  The panelist included Andrew Giles, our incoming ACHE president, Scott Simon and COL Mary Krueger.  VADM Bono was our moderator for this panel and led our panelist through a great discussion about planning your career path but realizing that taking risks is necessary to reach your goals.  Scott Simon provided an interesting perspective as an executive coach and sharing his personal story moving through his own career path.  The final panel was regarding strategies to support resiliency and professional well-being.  This panel included Jason Chang, Lt Col Kasi Chu, and LCDR Kimberly Kelley.  This panel was moderated by CAPT Marlene Sanchez.  CAPT Sanchez led this panel in a heart-felt discussion about self-care and the importance of connection and self-reflection.  LCDR Kelley brought her team to lead us in exercises designed to release stress including laughing yoga and deep breathing.  All three panels were packed with useful information and provided great information for healthcare leaders at all levels.
 

 
The evaluations of this program were overwhelmingly positive.  After overcoming a few technical difficulties during the keynote, the Guam participants were able to interact with our moderators, panelists and other participants.  VADM Bono stayed after the conclusion of the event to talk to the Guam people and provided additional insights for them.  I want to take this opportunity to thank the planning team for its amazing effort in putting this day to together.  The planning committee included Lt Col Jackie Kim, CAPT Marlene Sanchez, CAPT Jennifer Espiritu, COL Kara Gormont and Kristen Croom.  We had an amazing time working together and enjoying the pupu platters at Ruby Tuesdays.  We hope to continue this bootcamp in following years.  If you are interested in participating in the planning committee, please let Kristen know.

With regards,

Kristen Croom
Co-Chair, Education Committee

kcroom80@gmail.com 


Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

Registration Open

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529