Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2020 Vol. 1
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Articles of Interest
Four Safety Trends for 2020
Quality Patient Outcomes Begin With Trust
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Local Program Chapter
Student Corner
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
Member Spotlight
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Access Complimentary Resources for the Board of Governors Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare leader what are your top concerns regarding emerging infectious diseases?
Adequate supply chain
Adequate staff training
Correct and current information
Unexpected financial burden
Healthcare system overload
Public/private coordination and colloboration
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

PRESIDENT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
Andrew.t.giles@kp.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE
travis.clegg@straub.net


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE 
dchadwick@queens.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu

wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Kenny Morris
Kenneth.morris@stryker.com

SECRETARY
Sally Belles
sbelles@queens.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Com Stephanie Ku
stephanie.s.ku.mil@mail.mil

DIRECTORS

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Glenn Kawabata | Communications
glenn.kawabata@straub.net

Maj Jackie Lou E. Kim, USAF | Diversity
jackielou.kim.1@us.af.mil

Kristen Croom | Education
Kcroom80@gmail.com

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA | Membership
travis.clegg@straub.net

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA | Nominating
travis.clegg@straub.net

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Chapter President
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE

*Please note that this message was composed prior to March 2020.

I hope your 2020 is off to a great start.  It’s an honor to represent the Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE as President this year.  I’m most looking forward to networking with our members, sharing best practices, and coordinating educational opportunities so we can continue to advance the quality of healthcare being provided here in the islands.  In January, we held our first board meeting of the year, as well as our annual strategy session to ensure we are aligned with the needs of our community and our membership.  Our focus this year will be in three key areas: Networking, Education, and Philanthropy.  This year’s activities kick off with the Annual ACHE congress, held this year from March 23rd – 26th at the Hyatt Regency in Chicago.  ACHE's Congress on Healthcare Leadership gathers more than 4,200 leaders from the healthcare leadership community for this annual premier education and networking event, we hope to see you there.  We also have several great social and educational events scheduled locally in the coming months, calendars will be distributed shortly.  Lastly, I wanted to touch on our philanthropic efforts this year.  We will be partnering with H4, a comprehensive service facility serving Oahu's chronically homeless population.  In the coming months, you’ll see additional information released about how you and your organization are able to help with supplies and other toiletries for H4.  Social determinants of health have real impacts on the outcomes of Hawaii’s homeless, and what better way to show solidarity, partnering as a chapter to help this cause.  Thank you for being a member of this great organization, and I hope to connect with you all at one of our upcoming events!

Mahalo 

Andrew T. Giles, MBA, FACHE
President, Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE  
Assistant Administrator - Hospital Operations & Support Services
 
808-432-7960 (office)
808-432-8605 (fax)
808-763-8544 (mobile phone)
Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529