Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2020 Vol. 1
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Articles of Interest
Four Safety Trends for 2020
Quality Patient Outcomes Begin With Trust
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
News from the Guam Local Program Chapter
Student Corner
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
Member Spotlight
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Access Complimentary Resources for the Board of Governors Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare leader what are your top concerns regarding emerging infectious diseases?
Adequate supply chain
Adequate staff training
Correct and current information
Unexpected financial burden
Healthcare system overload
Public/private coordination and colloboration
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@palimomi.org

PRESIDENT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
Andrew.t.giles@kp.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE
travis.clegg@straub.net


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE 
dchadwick@queens.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu

wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Kenny Morris
Kenneth.morris@stryker.com

SECRETARY
Sally Belles
sbelles@queens.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Com Stephanie Ku
stephanie.s.ku.mil@mail.mil

DIRECTORS

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Glenn Kawabata | Communications
glenn.kawabata@straub.net

Maj Jackie Lou E. Kim, USAF | Diversity
jackielou.kim.1@us.af.mil

Kristen Croom | Education
Kcroom80@gmail.com

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA | Membership
travis.clegg@straub.net

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA | Nominating
travis.clegg@straub.net

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

News & Committee Updates
Member Spotlight

Cindy Nguyen is currently a Coordinator for Patient Services at Straub Medical Center. In May 2019, she obtained her Masters in Health Administration from Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas. During her education she worked at a locally established physician-owned OB/GYN medical practice as the Business Manager. Also, she was an active student associate for the Southeast Texas ACHE Chapter and involved in Medical Group Management Association (MGMA).

Why did you join ACHE and how long have you been a member?

I joined ACHE initially to expand my network and enhance my education. While I was obtaining my degree, my mentor, Mr. Jack Buckley, highly recommended that I join ACHE to meet healthcare leaders and learn from their career path. I have been a member of ACHE for 3 years.

How has ACHE impacted your career?

ACHE has impacted my career by providing a strong network of healthcare leaders to learn from and seek mentorship from. Also, as a student, ACHE provided me with scholarships and access to opportunities such as attending ACHE Congress and educational sessions that enhanced my education.

What would you say to someone who is interested in joining ACHE?

I would highly encourage anyone working in the healthcare industry to join ACHE because the resources available are invaluable. ACHE provides an opportunity for members to learn and collaborate with each other.

What is a motto or quote that influences your leadership style?

I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.

- Maya Angelou

What would your words of encouragement be to early careerists about pursuing healthcare leadership positions given the ever changing healthcare environment?

As an early careerist myself, I would encourage my peers to never stop learning and growing. Healthcare is constantly changing and the only way we can keep up with it is by continuing to educate ourselves. When I was an administrative resident at Brooke Army Medical Center, my mentor and preceptor, Colonel David Parker, told me to always ask for opportunities because the worst they can say is no. Therefore, I would encourage my peers to always seek out opportunities.

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529