Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Fall 2020 Vol. 3
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Articles of Interest
Behind the Scenes: Supply Chain Managers Work to Keep Hawaii's Healthcare Workers Safe
How to Use Virtual Visits to Connect Coronavirus Patients With Loved Ones
We Must Stay Informed
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Student Corner
Member Spotlight
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Access Complimentary Resources for the Board of Governors Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare leader what was your top challenge to date with the COVID-19 pandemic?
Adequate supply chain
Adequate staff training
Correct and current information
Unexpected financial burden
Healthcare system overload
Public/private coordination and colloboration
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org

PRESIDENT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
Andrew.t.giles@kp.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE
travis.clegg@straub.net


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE 
dchadwick@queens.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu

wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Kenny Morris
Kenneth.morris@stryker.com

SECRETARY
Sally Belles
sbelles@queens.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Com Stephanie Ku
stephanie.s.ku.mil@mail.mil

DIRECTORS

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Glenn Kawabata | Communications
glenn.kawabata@straub.net

Maj Jackie Lou E. Kim, USAF | Diversity
jackielou.kim.1@us.af.mil

Kristen Croom | Education
Kcroom80@gmail.com

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA | Membership
travis.clegg@straub.net

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA | Nominating
travis.clegg@straub.net

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent

Message from Your ACHE Regent
Spring 2020

Hawai'i Pacific ACHE Members,

A few months ago, I was planning to fly to Chicago to reconnect with friends, meet new ACHE members, and participate in conversations about the latest health care changes as we all plan for payment transformation.

Fast forward to today, and I am standing in my office planning for a "NEW NORMAL". Wow, normal. What does that even mean anymore? Everyone is wearing a mask, screening patients for COVID-19 before surgery, engaged in telemedicine visits with physicians, and social distancing. Never in my 30 + years in health care did I ever think I would be looking at the services we provide through this lens. Our nature in Hawai'i and the Pacific is to greet each other with a hug and a kiss. Now we hesitate to get close and try to greet each other with a smile through our eyes.

As I reflect on a few short weeks ago, we were preparing for Congress and the excitement of seeing old friends and making new connections. I feel so blessed and fortunate to have you as a colleague and member of our Hawai'i Pacific Chapter of ACHE. When I think of all of you, and the work we have accomplished to keep our staff, patients, and community safe through this pandemic, I think of perseverance, accomplishment, togetherness, community, and the list goes on. YOU ARE MY HEALTH CARE HEROES!

Take time to reflect on what you and your staff have accomplished and know we will get through this together. Remember, ACHE is here to support you during this difficult time.

Please refer to the ACHE website for a few reminders:

o   The online COVID-19 Resource that includes webinars, articles, and podcasts. There are also other resources such as the Social Media How-to Guide that provides members a guide on how to best utilize social media platforms.

o   Upcoming webinars (eligible for 1 ACHE Qualified Education credit each)

o   Posted Articles by Deborah J. Bowen, FACHE, CAE, president, and CEO, ACHE:

  •         Leading Together Through COVID-19
  •         Leading Through a Crisis
  •         Leading Together

Take care and I hope to see you soon for a face-to-face conversation (socially distance) as we establish our NEW NORMAL!


Gidget Ruscetta, FACHE
Regent for Hawaii/Pacific


Note
:
If you would like to send a message to the Regent, please use the Regent's email listed above. Do not reply directly to this email message since your message will go to Regional Services, and not directly to the Regent.

******

Stay current on the latest from ACHE--check out ACHE National News.

Next Article
Save the Date

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529