Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Fall 2020 Vol. 3
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Articles of Interest
Behind the Scenes: Supply Chain Managers Work to Keep Hawaii's Healthcare Workers Safe
How to Use Virtual Visits to Connect Coronavirus Patients With Loved Ones
We Must Stay Informed
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Student Corner
Member Spotlight
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Access Complimentary Resources for the Board of Governors Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare leader what was your top challenge to date with the COVID-19 pandemic?
Adequate supply chain
Adequate staff training
Correct and current information
Unexpected financial burden
Healthcare system overload
Public/private coordination and colloboration
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org

PRESIDENT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
Andrew.t.giles@kp.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE
travis.clegg@straub.net


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE 
dchadwick@queens.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu

wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Kenny Morris
Kenneth.morris@stryker.com

SECRETARY
Sally Belles
sbelles@queens.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Com Stephanie Ku
stephanie.s.ku.mil@mail.mil

DIRECTORS

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Glenn Kawabata | Communications
glenn.kawabata@straub.net

Maj Jackie Lou E. Kim, USAF | Diversity
jackielou.kim.1@us.af.mil

Kristen Croom | Education
Kcroom80@gmail.com

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA | Membership
travis.clegg@straub.net

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA | Nominating
travis.clegg@straub.net

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

ACHE Resources
ACHE National News

COVID-19 Resources

Thank you for the work you are doing in your healthcare organizations and communities to manage the impact of COVID-19 and take care of patients. We are well-aware these are extraordinary times for you as leaders.

Now more than ever, it is important to remain connected to your professional society and fellow healthcare leaders. Our COVID-19 Resource Center is updated regularly with perspectives from front-line leaders, documents, and downloadable webinars and podcasts. We are here to support you.


ACHE Job Center

Recognizing that employment and hiring needs continue to evolve amidst the landscape of COVID-19, we encourage all ACHE members, associates, registered employers, and recruiters to leverage the ACHE Job Center in support of recruitment efforts and job search needs during these unprecedented and uncertain times.


Save $225 on the Exam Fee

Obtaining the prestigious FACHE® credential signifies hard work, dedication and commitment. To thank you for your efforts, the $225 Board of Governors Exam fee will be waived for approved applications when you submit your completed application by July 31, 2020 (including the application fee and all supporting documents).

Learn more about the requirements to sit for the Exam and the resources available to help you prepare.


Coming Soon: New and Improved ACHE Leadership Mentoring Network

Mentoring is one of ACHE’s highest priorities. We believe no matter where you are in your career, mentoring is an integral part of professional growth and leadership development. We are currently working on launching a new digital mentoring platform designed to enhance the mentoring experience and broaden the reach for mentoring experiences and support overall. Watch for more information coming later this summer.


Run for ACHE Regent

The Council of Regents is the legislative body representing ACHE’s more than 48,000 members. Serving as an elected official is a unique opportunity that allows you to exercise your leadership ability, share innovative ideas and act on behalf of ACHE members.

Any Fellow who wishes to run for election to serve on the Council of Regents must submit a letter of intent to elections@ache.org by Aug. 21. 

The Council of Regents elections will be held in the following jurisdictions:

Alabama
Alaska
Colorado
Delaware
Hawaii/Pacific
Idaho
Kansas
Louisiana
Maine
Massachusetts
Mississippi
New Hampshire
Oklahoma
Oregon
Rhode Island
Texas—Northern
Utah
Wisconsin

Visit the Official Notice for the 2020–2021 Council of Regents Elections for more information, or contact Caitlin E. Stine, content marketing specialist, Department of Marketing, at cstine@ache.org.


Forum on Advances in Healthcare Management Research 

We know this has been an unusual yeah with so many efforts directed toward responding to the COVID-19 pandemic. In preparation for ACHE's 2021 Congress on Healthcare Leadership, we are moving forward with the call for proposals for the Forum on Advances in Healthcare Management Research. ACHE is inviting authors to present their research at the 13th annual Forum on Advancement in Healthcare Management Research. This session will take place during the 2021 Congress, March 22-25. The lead presenter of each selected proposal will receive a complimentary registration to Congress. Please visit ache.org/Congress/ForumRFP.cfm for the selection criteria and submission instructions. Submit your up-to-400-word abstract by July 10, 2020.

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529