Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Fall 2020 Vol. 3
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Articles of Interest
Behind the Scenes: Supply Chain Managers Work to Keep Hawaii's Healthcare Workers Safe
How to Use Virtual Visits to Connect Coronavirus Patients With Loved Ones
We Must Stay Informed
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Student Corner
Member Spotlight
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Access Complimentary Resources for the Board of Governors Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare leader what was your top challenge to date with the COVID-19 pandemic?
Adequate supply chain
Adequate staff training
Correct and current information
Unexpected financial burden
Healthcare system overload
Public/private coordination and colloboration
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org

PRESIDENT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
Andrew.t.giles@kp.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE
travis.clegg@straub.net


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE 
dchadwick@queens.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu

wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Kenny Morris
Kenneth.morris@stryker.com

SECRETARY
Sally Belles
sbelles@queens.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Com Stephanie Ku
stephanie.s.ku.mil@mail.mil

DIRECTORS

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Glenn Kawabata | Communications
glenn.kawabata@straub.net

Maj Jackie Lou E. Kim, USAF | Diversity
jackielou.kim.1@us.af.mil

Kristen Croom | Education
Kcroom80@gmail.com

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA | Membership
travis.clegg@straub.net

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA | Nominating
travis.clegg@straub.net

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Kristen Croom, MLS(ASCP), MB(ASCP)

Aloha Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter

I wanted to start by saying a huge MAHALO to our healthcare teams working to care for our patients during this pandemic. We have seen unprecedented changes to our healthcare system and our entire way of life. It is during these times that we can rely on our ACHE family and colleagues to provide a unified voice and support. Our Hawaii Pacific ACHE Board has been busy at our respective organizations, but now that we are seeing some light at the end of the tunnel I wanted to take this opportunity and provide you with some education committee updates for the rest of the year.

The 2020 Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA) Hawaii Conference was rescheduled to Monday November 9th to Tuesday November 10th, 2020, at the Prince Waikiki. The HFMA and ACHE Boards partner to provide Face to Face credits for our ACHE members, as well as a wealth of other healthcare financial management sessions. The first 1.5-hour ACHE panel on Monday will be titled "The Future of Healthcare Financing." This session will focus on different strategies used by various healthcare organizations in our community. The second 1.5-hour ACHE panel on Tuesday will be titled "Strategies to Create Meaningful Executive Alignment with Physicians and Organizational Financial Goals." We have financial managers and physicians on this panel to discuss how this dyad partnership is necessary for successful healthcare organizations. Registration will be reopened soon. Please visit www.cvent.com/events/hawaii-hfma-2020-fall-conference/event-summary to register and to see the schedule.

The Leadership in Action Conference is still on track to take place Thursday November 12th to Friday November 13th, 2020, at the Kahala Hotel and Resort. This is a conference in partnership with the Hawaii chapter of American Organization of Nurse Leaders, the Hawaii State Center for Nursing, and the ACHE Board to provide educational and leadership opportunities to our local healthcare leaders. The ACHE Hawaii Board is planning the pre-conference this year on November 12th. We are planning on flying in a national ACHE speaker to provide a 6 to 8 hour Face to Face workshop for our healthcare leaders. The following day will be filled with multiple speakers sharing experiences with leadership in a time of change. The planning committee is working on virtual options for this event in case we must change plans. More information will be made available soon. Check out www.aonlhawaii.org/event

The board would also like to gauge your interest in participating in a local Board of Governors Exam Preparation Course. This review course would provide 8 Face to Face credits featuring local speakers presenting national material to prepare individuals to sit for the BOG exam. Please fill out the survey to provide your feedback: www.surveymonkey.com/r/WWVHNPP. If you are interested in becoming an instructor, please fill out the survey. National ACHE requires that this conference be held in person. For Guam and outer-island members, please fill out the form if you are interested in assisting with planning an in-person preparation course.

As you can see, we have a busy fall lined up for our ACHE members. We want to provide you the opportunity to earn F2F and QEC credits at home. If you have any feedback, thoughts or suggestions please let Kristen know at kcroom80@gmail.com . We are always looking for additional volunteers to help with future education events. Please reach out to Kristen if you are interested. Thank you again for your support and commitment to our association and our patients. We are profoundly grateful to have you on our team.
 

With regards,

The Education Committee
Kristen Croom
Co-Chair, Education Committee

kcroom80@gmail.com 

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529