Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Fall 2020 Vol. 3
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Articles of Interest
Behind the Scenes: Supply Chain Managers Work to Keep Hawaii's Healthcare Workers Safe
How to Use Virtual Visits to Connect Coronavirus Patients With Loved Ones
We Must Stay Informed
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Student Corner
Member Spotlight
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
ACHE Resources
ACHE National News
Career Corner
Access Complimentary Resources for the Board of Governors Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare leader what was your top challenge to date with the COVID-19 pandemic?
Adequate supply chain
Adequate staff training
Correct and current information
Unexpected financial burden
Healthcare system overload
Public/private coordination and colloboration
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org

PRESIDENT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
Andrew.t.giles@kp.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE
travis.clegg@straub.net


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE 
dchadwick@queens.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu

wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Kenny Morris
Kenneth.morris@stryker.com

SECRETARY
Sally Belles
sbelles@queens.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Com Stephanie Ku
stephanie.s.ku.mil@mail.mil

DIRECTORS

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Glenn Kawabata | Communications
glenn.kawabata@straub.net

Maj Jackie Lou E. Kim, USAF | Diversity
jackielou.kim.1@us.af.mil

Kristen Croom | Education
Kcroom80@gmail.com

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA | Membership
travis.clegg@straub.net

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA | Nominating
travis.clegg@straub.net

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

News & Committee Updates
Member Spotlight

Captain Kimberly A. Zuzelski, MPH MS RD CSSD FACHE

Captain Kimberly Zuzelski is currently the Commanding Officer of the Naval Health Clinics in Hawaii, which includes 6 geographically dispersed ambulatory care clinics that serve about 35,000 enrolled patients. Her initial education and training was in the field of Nutrition and Dietetics. She completed her Bachelor’s degree in Dietetics at Colorado State University. Captain Zuzelski joined the Navy through a scholarship program that funded her dietetic internship program in exchange for three years of service, which was 27 years ago. Since then, she returned to school for a Master of Science degree in Clinical Nutrition and a Master of Public Health from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

The Navy has afforded her innumerable opportunities to serve across the globe in various inpatient and ambulatory clinical and administrative roles in nutrition, food service, diabetes education, sports nutrition, public health, quality management, and healthcare administration. Captain Zuzelski has had exposure to some incredible mentors and leaders that contributed to her desire to pursue executive medicine as a career path

Why did you join ACHE and how long have you been a member?

I initially joined ACHE to broaden my exposure to the field of healthcare administration in 2003, although I focused more on my clinical credentials and board certifications in diabetes education and sports dietetics until a few years ago.  As my leadership responsibilities increased, I looked to ACHE as a credible source for education, professional growth and following industry benchmarks.  I became a Fellow of ACHE in 2016. 

How has ACHE impacted your career or leadership style?

ACHE has offered a network of professionals that enable shared ideas and support while leading in today’s healthcare environment.  It has offered an avenue for me to understand the parallels between military and civilian healthcare, and the self-assessments enabled me to target opportunities for continued education and currency.  When I was involved with implementing an electronic health record at a prior command, I was able to track articles and lessons learned from ACHE publications as well. 

What would you say to someone who is interested in joining ACHE?

I’d say that ACHE is an exceptional organization regardless of whether one is a clinician or administrator. ACHE has so much to offer with regard to personal and professional growth, networking, and industry excellence.

What would your words of encouragement be to early careerists about pursuing healthcare leadership positions given the ever changing healthcare environment?

Now is the best time to be involved. Healthcare is always changing, but therein lies the opportunity to innovate and shape what our system looks like in the future.

 

Captain Kimberly A. Zuzelski, MPH MS RD CSSD FACHE

Previous Article
Next Article
Save the Date

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 1 North Franklin Street, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL  60606-3529