Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Winter 2020 Vol. 4
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Articles of Interest
The Unexpected Side Effect of COVID-19: Collaboration
Hope In Action
Career and Leadership
Ask an Exec!
Member Spotlight
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
Student Corner
Maintaining Educational Momentum during the Pandemic
Diversity
ACHE Hawai'i-Pacific 2020 Diversity Analysis
Addressing Healthcare Disparities
ACHE National News
ACHE National News
COVID-19 Resources
Board of Governors Exam at Pearson VUE Testing Centers
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
ACHE Resources
Career Corner
Access Complimentary Resources for the Board of Governors Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare leader, what is your biggest concern for 2021?
Adequate supply chain
Healthcare system overload
Healthcare transitions post-COVID
Staff morale
Sufficient COVID vaccine adoption
Unexpected financial burden
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org

PRESIDENT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
andrew.t.giles@kp.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE
travis.clegg@straub.net


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE 
dchadwick@queens.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu
wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Kenny Morris
kenneth.morris@stryker.com

SECRETARY
Sally Belles
sbelles@queens.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Com Stephanie Ku
stephanie.s.ku.mil@mail.mil

DIRECTORS

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Glenn Kawabata | Communications
glenn.kawabata@straub.net

Maj Jackie Lou E. Kim, USAF | Diversity
jackielou.kim.1@us.af.mil

Kristen Croom | Education
kcroom80@gmail.com

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA | Membership
travis.clegg@straub.net

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA | Nominating
travis.clegg@straub.net

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Chapter President
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE

Aloha Chapter Members,

It is not an understatement to say that this has been one of the most challenging years in modern history.  One thing is for certain though; in these difficult times, you and your teams have risen to the challenge.  I am so proud of the health care heroes for the work they do every day, responding to help meet the needs of our communities through this pandemic.  With that being said, there is still much work to do.  Only time will tell if or when we’ll see another COVID surge, and the vaccination program will be an “all hands on deck” effort.  During this holiday season, I hope you find some time to relax and recharge and do something that makes you joyous and fulfilled.
 
As mentioned in previous updates, our local ACHE board continues to meet virtually each month to discuss chapter initiatives and activities.  Due to COVID-19, we have transitioned entirely to virtual platforms this year.  We were able to successfully pull off two virtual continuing education programs this fall, providing six face-to-face credits for each program.  We also have an upcoming annual meeting, open to all members, scheduled for December 16th from 7am – 830am.  Please join us (virtually) for chapter updates, chapter awards, and a special COVID-19 panel discussion worth one CEU.  An invite to our chapter’s annual meeting was sent to your email address on file with ACHE.  Thank you for your continued support of the Hawaii-Pacific Chapter of ACHE, and I hope to see you all in person again someday soon.  
 
Stay safe. Wishing you all a Happy Holidays and Mele Kalikimaka!
 
 
Thank you,
 
Andrew

 
Andrew T. Giles, MBA, FACHE
President, Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE  
Assistant Administrator - Hospital Operations & Support Services
 
808-432-7960 (office)
808-432-8605 (fax)
808-763-8544 (mobile phone)
Previous Article
Next Article
ACHE COVID-19 Resource Center

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 300 S. Riverside Plaza, Suite 1900, Chicago, IL  60606