Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Winter 2020 Vol. 4
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Articles of Interest
The Unexpected Side Effect of COVID-19: Collaboration
Hope In Action
Career and Leadership
Ask an Exec!
Member Spotlight
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
Student Corner
Maintaining Educational Momentum during the Pandemic
Diversity
ACHE Hawai'i-Pacific 2020 Diversity Analysis
Addressing Healthcare Disparities
ACHE National News
ACHE National News
COVID-19 Resources
Board of Governors Exam at Pearson VUE Testing Centers
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
ACHE Resources
Career Corner
Access Complimentary Resources for the Board of Governors Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
As a healthcare leader, what is your biggest concern for 2021?
Adequate supply chain
Healthcare system overload
Healthcare transitions post-COVID
Staff morale
Sufficient COVID vaccine adoption
Unexpected financial burden
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org

PRESIDENT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
andrew.t.giles@kp.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE
travis.clegg@straub.net


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE 
dchadwick@queens.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu
wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Kenny Morris
kenneth.morris@stryker.com

SECRETARY
Sally Belles
sbelles@queens.org


STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Rachelle Gallegos
rachelleg.0128@gmail.com

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Com Stephanie Ku
stephanie.s.ku.mil@mail.mil

DIRECTORS

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Nick Hughey, RN, MBA, FACHE
nhughey@wcchc.com

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@gmail.com

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com

Robert Diaz, FACHE
robert.d.diaz@kp.org


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Miguel Guevara, CMRP | Audit
miguel.guevara@af.af.mil

Glenn Kawabata | Communications
glenn.kawabata@straub.net

Maj Jackie Lou E. Kim, USAF | Diversity
jackielou.kim.1@us.af.mil

Kristen Croom | Education
kcroom80@gmail.com

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA | Membership
travis.clegg@straub.net

Travis Clegg, FACHE, MBA | Nominating
travis.clegg@straub.net

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

Diversity
Addressing Healthcare Disparities

All communities are unique, but those of us lucky enough to live in the Pacific islands have a unique understanding of just how diverse our communities truly are. Healthcare leaders need to be cognizant of the mix of ethnic backgrounds, socioeconomic statuses, and access to healthcare barriers in communities in order to provide the best care to our families, friends, and neighbors.

The COVID-19 pandemic has dramatically magnified disparities in access to healthcare. In March of this year, New Jersey pediatric surgeon Dr. Ala Stanford realized that many people in her community were being turned away from COVID testing sites due to reasons beyond their control (Feldman, 2020). Community leaders with the best intentions set up convenient drive-thru testing sites, but did not take into consideration that many people did not own vehicles. Those attempting to walk-in were turned away. Dr. Stanford took matters into her own hands and created a mobile clinic that traveled to those in need of testing who did not have access to testing sites due to lack of private transportation, doctor’s referrals, or health insurance.

Here in Hawai’i, some in the Pacific Islander community have been subject to implicit bias and, in turn, lost trust in the government's plan to contain the virus (Burgos, 2020). Without a translator, those who tested positive for COVID were told they needed to isolate in a hotel for two weeks, but they did not understand the details of how the quarantine was to take place. Many were left scared and alone without anyone who could answer their questions or provide them with moral support during an extremely difficult time.

The pandemic has brought major health issues front and center, and we have the opportunity to address underlying issues that perhaps have been placed on the backburner for far too long. Simply thinking about certain programs from a different perspective can help us find ways to increase their efficacy. As such, translators are now working the hotlines, mobile clinics have been dispatched, and government officials are working with community leaders to ensure that everyone is provided with up-to-date guidance. COVID is forcing everyone to think outside of the box. With increased collaboration across sectors, we will not only survive this pandemic - we may, in fact, find better ways to close the gap in healthcare disparities along the way.

 

References

  1. Feldman, N. (2020). 'Black Doctors Work to Make Coronavirus Testing More Equitable,' KHN 13 October.

  2. Burgos, A. (2020). 'Pacific Islander communities grapple with high COVID-10 infection rates and issues with language barriers,' KITV4 29 September.

Previous Article
Next Article
ACHE COVID-19 Resource Center

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 300 S. Riverside Plaza, Suite 1900, Chicago, IL  60606