Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2021
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Articles of Interest
Resourcefulness: A Key Leadership Skill
Accomplishments Build Careers
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
Student Corner
Navigating a Changing Educational Landscape
ACHE National News
Connect With Fellow Members
ACHE Call for Nominations for the 2022 Slate
2021 Premier Corporate Partners
Fund for Healthcare Leadership
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
ACHE Resources
Career Corner
Board of Governors Exam at Pearson VUE Testing Centers
Access Complimentary Resources for the Board of Governors Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
Did you attend the ACHE Virtual Congress and if so what was your overall perception?
Yes; it was a positive experience.
Yes; it was a neutral experience.
Yes; it was a negative experience.
I did not attend.
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org

PRESIDENT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
andrew.t.giles@kp.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE
travis.clegg@straub.net


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE 
dchadwick@queens.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu
wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Kenny Morris
kenneth.morris@stryker.com

SECRETARY
Sally Belles
sbelles@queens.org

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Com Stephanie Ku
stephanie.s.ku.mil@mail.mil

DIRECTORS

Suzanne Asaro
asarosk@ah.org

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Cheryl Kozai
cheryl.kozai@hphmg.org

Col Michael D. Foutch
michael.d.foutch.mil@mail.mil

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@kapiolani.org

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD, RN
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Glenn Kawabata | Communications
glenn.kawabata@straub.net

Jessica Niles | Communications
jessica.niles@straub.net

Jackie Kim | Diversity

Eunice Park | Diversity

Kristen Croom | Education
kcroom@queens.org

Jackie Kim | Education

Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE | Membership
travis.clegg@straub.net

Nash Witten, MD | Membership
witten@hawaii.edu

Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE | Nominating
travis.clegg@straub.net

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

Aaron Predum | Sponsorship
aaron.predum@hawaiipacifichealth.org


Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Chapter President
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE

Aloha Chapter Members,

I trust you folks had a good holiday season, and hope 2021 is off to a prosperous start.  As we reflect back on the last 14 months of this pandemic, it is no understatement to say that our lives have been completely changed.  In the early months, we focused on PPE shortages, establishing protocols, and testing. Then, it shifted to managing the summer surge, ensuring patients were receiving top quality care and keeping our staff safe.  Now, we’ve transitioned to an “all hands on deck” vaccination effort. The millions of lives lost to Covid-19 is a tragedy, yet we find solace in knowing there will be end to this pandemic through immunization.  I applaud you and your teams for all for the tireless work, the long nights, and weekends that have been needed to keep our community in Hawaii safe.

The local ACHE chapter continues to be here to support you folks in your healthcare journey.  One of the greatest strengths of our chapter and community, is how connected we are.  Despite not being able to host social events over the past year, I still receive many emails and calls from members across the islands.  I encourage us to make those bonds with other members, to share best practices, and improve the healthcare in our community.  Despite the pandemic, our Hawaii-Pacific Chapter membership roster remains strong and continues to grow.  In other news, the first ever virtual ACHE Congress just wrapped up in late March, and it was filled with inspirational content and superstar speakers.  Our local board continues to devise new ways to keep us connected in this virtual era, we will be hosting an upcoming (virtual) leadership development program in late April, registration details coming soon.  The annual AONL/ACHE event typically hosted at the Kahala Hotel will also be cancelled for 2021, but our ACHE chapter is hoping to plan in-person events by years end.  Please continue the great work, and hope to see you all again soon. 

If I can be a resource, you would like to get more involved in the local chapter, or you just want to connect, please don’t hesitate to give me a call or send me an email.  (808)-763-8544 or Andrew.T.Giles@kp.org.

Thank you,
 
Andrew

 
Andrew T. Giles, MBA, FACHE
President, Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE  
Assistant Administrator - Hospital Operations & Support Services
 
808-432-7960 (office)
808-432-8605 (fax)
808-763-8544 (mobile phone)
Previous Article
Next Article
ACHE COVID-19 Resource Center

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 300 S. Riverside Plaza, Suite 1900, Chicago, IL  60606