Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2021
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Articles of Interest
Resourcefulness: A Key Leadership Skill
Accomplishments Build Careers
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
Student Corner
Navigating a Changing Educational Landscape
ACHE National News
Connect With Fellow Members
ACHE Call for Nominations for the 2022 Slate
2021 Premier Corporate Partners
Fund for Healthcare Leadership
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
ACHE Resources
Career Corner
Board of Governors Exam at Pearson VUE Testing Centers
Access Complimentary Resources for the Board of Governors Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
Did you attend the ACHE Virtual Congress and if so what was your overall perception?
Yes; it was a positive experience.
Yes; it was a neutral experience.
Yes; it was a negative experience.
I did not attend.
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org

PRESIDENT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
andrew.t.giles@kp.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE
travis.clegg@straub.net


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE 
dchadwick@queens.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu
wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Kenny Morris
kenneth.morris@stryker.com

SECRETARY
Sally Belles
sbelles@queens.org

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Com Stephanie Ku
stephanie.s.ku.mil@mail.mil

DIRECTORS

Suzanne Asaro
asarosk@ah.org

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Cheryl Kozai
cheryl.kozai@hphmg.org

Col Michael D. Foutch
michael.d.foutch.mil@mail.mil

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@kapiolani.org

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD, RN
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Glenn Kawabata | Communications
glenn.kawabata@straub.net

Jessica Niles | Communications
jessica.niles@straub.net

Jackie Kim | Diversity

Eunice Park | Diversity

Kristen Croom | Education
kcroom@queens.org

Jackie Kim | Education

Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE | Membership
travis.clegg@straub.net

Nash Witten, MD | Membership
witten@hawaii.edu

Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE | Nominating
travis.clegg@straub.net

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

Aaron Predum | Sponsorship
aaron.predum@hawaiipacifichealth.org


Articles of Interest
Accomplishments Build Careers

One of the most impactful check-ins is a periodic progress report at a regularly scheduled meeting of key members of the leadership team.

Individuals may believe they deserve a promotion (e.g., “I have been a director for 10 years, and I deserve to be a VP!”). Unless they can demonstrate the ability to deliver tangible results and benefits for an organization beyond their current position, however, individuals should not be promoted. 

Setting and Tracking Goals
There are numerous factors to consider when crafting annual goals. Making the goal a derivative of an organizational strategy, an interest of the executive’s direct supervisor, one that is shared with other executives or one that requires resources wholly contained within the executive’s area of responsibility are excellent options. Garnering required resources and support is more easily achieved when the goal incorporates these considerations.

Executives should know the metrics or impactful qualitative outcomes they want to achieve upfront. It’s also helpful to visualize the accomplishments derived from goals on their resumes. Then, individuals can ask themselves whether those achievements will be impressive on their annual performance reviews or to a hiring manager, regardless of whether a job search is in their career plans.

Executing Goals
First, executives are encouraged to communicate goals to stakeholders who will hold them publicly accountable. Second, delegate responsibilities to stakeholders with clear expectations, specific milestones and regular check-ins. One of the most impactful check-ins is a periodic progress report at a regularly scheduled meeting of key members of the leadership team.

Third, engage a peer who also has an interest in this goal. Share the journey. And fourth, make sure no significant resources beyond what is built into the annual budget are needed. Promises for additional resources evaporate quickly when finances get strained.

It has been all hands on deck as healthcare organizations absorb shifting government recommendations, institute policies and procedures for safety, procure adequate personal protective equipment, build testing capabilities, and care for COVID-19 patients, all while managing steep financial losses. A key for leaders is managing these day-to-day issues while keeping their goals top-of-mind and steadily progressing throughout the year.

Whether a job search is on the horizon or not, driving toward accomplishments that merit inclusion on their resumes will keep leaders focused on their career and perhaps even optimistic as they head into a performance review. 

--Adapted from “Accomplishments Build Careers,” Healthcare Executive, Alan S. Kaplan, MD, FACHE, CEO, UW Health, Madison, Wis.

Previous Article
Next Article
ACHE COVID-19 Resource Center

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 300 S. Riverside Plaza, Suite 1900, Chicago, IL  60606