Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE
A quarterly e-newsletter for the Hawai'i-Pacific Chapter of ACHE Spring 2021
In This Issue
Messages from Chapter Leadership
Message from the Regent
Message from the Chapter President
Articles of Interest
Resourcefulness: A Key Leadership Skill
Accomplishments Build Careers
News & Committee Updates
News from the Education Committee
Membership Report: New Fellows, Members, and Recertified Fellows
Student Corner
Navigating a Changing Educational Landscape
ACHE National News
Connect With Fellow Members
ACHE Call for Nominations for the 2022 Slate
2021 Premier Corporate Partners
Fund for Healthcare Leadership
Calendars and Recent Events
Calendar of Events
Calendar of Educational Events
ACHE Resources
Career Corner
Board of Governors Exam at Pearson VUE Testing Centers
Access Complimentary Resources for the Board of Governors Exam
Disclaimers/Sponsors
Ensure delivery of Chapter E-newsletter (Disclaimer)
Thank you to all our Sponsors
Newsletter Tools
Search Past Issues
Print-Friendly Article
Print-Friendly Issue
Forward to a Friend
Poll
Did you attend the ACHE Virtual Congress and if so what was your overall perception?
Yes; it was a positive experience.
Yes; it was a neutral experience.
Yes; it was a negative experience.
I did not attend.
CHAPTER OFFICERS

   

 

REGENT
Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

REGENT
Gidget Ruscetta, BSN, MBA, FACHE
gidget.ruscetta@kapiolani.org

PRESIDENT
Andrew Giles, MBA, FACHE
andrew.t.giles@kp.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE
travis.clegg@straub.net


IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Darlena Chadwick, MSN, MBA, FACHE 
dchadwick@queens.org


CHAIR, GUAM LOCAL COUNCIL
Geojun Wu
wugeojun@gmail.com


TREASURER
Kenny Morris
kenneth.morris@stryker.com

SECRETARY
Sally Belles
sbelles@queens.org

PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE
James C. Lin, MD
jclin@hawaiipacifichealth.org

MILITARY REPRESENTATIVE
Com Stephanie Ku
stephanie.s.ku.mil@mail.mil

DIRECTORS

Suzanne Asaro
asarosk@ah.org

Laura Bonilla, BSN, MA, FACHE
laurab@kapiolani.org

Josh Carpenter
josh.carpenter@trane.com

Cheryl Kozai
cheryl.kozai@hphmg.org

Col Michael D. Foutch
michael.d.foutch.mil@mail.mil

Robyn Polinar
robyn.polinar@kapiolani.org

Carolyn Voulgaridis, JD, RN
carolynvoulgaridis@gmail.com


COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Glenn Kawabata | Communications
glenn.kawabata@straub.net

Jessica Niles | Communications
jessica.niles@straub.net

Jackie Kim | Diversity

Eunice Park | Diversity

Kristen Croom | Education
kcroom@queens.org

Jackie Kim | Education

Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE | Membership
travis.clegg@straub.net

Nash Witten, MD | Membership
witten@hawaii.edu

Travis Clegg, MBA, FACHE | Nominating
travis.clegg@straub.net

Micah Ewing, MBA, FACHE | Sponsorship
micah.ewing@hawaiipacifichealth.org

Aaron Predum | Sponsorship
aaron.predum@hawaiipacifichealth.org


Student Corner
Navigating a Changing Educational Landscape
Jessica Niles, RN-C

Aloha everyone -

It’s hard to believe that we’re already more than halfway through the spring semester, nearing the end of what has been a uniquely challenging school year. We hope that all of our student members are well.

Educational experiences have taken many new forms this year. Many of us explored distance education, working with our program directors and instructors to navigate the complexities of virtual learning. Students in clinical programs found ways to obtain clinical experience with highly restricted access to hands-on opportunities. Schools and students responded in most cases with aplomb – drawing upon their creativity and passion for learning to maximize available resources, pioneer new systems, and support one another throughout.

Student life has also assumed new challenges and dimensions. Perhaps you’ve had to find ways to get school work done while simultaneously home schooling children, working from home, struggling to pay bills, assisting family and friends, etc. No matter what your unique experience, this year has been arduous.

As we arrive at Spring Break, there are signs that some semblance of normalcy, or a new baseline, are on the horizon. Hospitals are welcoming back students and interns, teachers are getting vaccinated. Whatever this year has been like for you, know that we applaud you and send our support. Watch the website for opportunities for virtual learning, networking, career development and information.

We wish you all the very best for the remainder of this school year, and new and exciting opportunities to come.

Previous Article
Next Article
ACHE COVID-19 Resource Center

 

This e-mail was sent from the American College of Healthcare Executives, 300 S. Riverside Plaza, Suite 1900, Chicago, IL  60606